Holey Bread and Chicken!

For all of you who have been waiting patiently to see how the apple whole wheat bread turned out, we finally sliced it up for breakfast this morning. It looked liked this.

IMG_4975

Holey. Yup. This often happens with swirly bread. I have read several ways to mitigate this, but I am not sure any of them would have worked here anyway.

IMG_4976

Despite the gaping hole, it toasted nicely and was simply delish with salted butter and honey. It was definitely a worthwhile experiment and one that I will keep in mind for my next bread baking project, which, of course, will also involve apples because everything I am making these days has apples in it.

Everything except for this week’s ffwd recipe, Chicken Basquaise. Don’t ask me how to say it. Even though I took two years of college French, I am not certain how to pronounce this.

Anyway, because of my tomato intolerance and because I wanted to streamline this recipe a bit, I changed it a little. The first thing I did was to use roasted peppers, which Dorie does give as an option, except the husband roasted them a few days earlier when we were grilling other things and I kept them in the fridge until I needed them. I browned the chicken first, then cooked the onions and one poblano pepper that hadn’t gotten pre-roasted.

IMG_4969

After the onions and poblano were softened, I added the rest of the peppers and a tablespoon of tomato paste to replace the tomatoes called for in the recipe.

IMG_4970

The white wine and herbs went in with the chicken and I sprinkled everything with smoked paprika that I found at Trader Joe’s. I let it simmer until the chicken was done.

IMG_4973

It was pretty good. The poblano chile lent a subtle spiciness to the dish, but not too much for the boys. The chicken was nice and moist and the peppers and onions soft and sweet. I thought the pre-roasted peppers were a little on the slimy side, so I am not sure I would do the pre-roasting step again, but it was convenient. Maybe I’ll have to watch to make sure they don’t get too soft in the roasting process. The best thing is that the tablespoon of tomato paste seems not to have bothered me, so maybe I can have a little tomato in my life after all! Yay!

Posted on September 21, 2012, in Baking, Cooking, French Fridays with Dorie, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. The holes donĀ“t matter at all if the bread tasted good! The chicken looks great and it was a nice dish, even without the tomato. Have a nice weekend

  2. Both the bread and the dish look fantastic!

  3. I have trouble with tomato sometimes, too, but this dish didn’t bother me. (As long as I don’t have it too often, I seem to be okay.) I love the idea of smoked paprika in this – great sub!

  4. Your Apple Swirl bread looks so very nice, never mind any holes, it looks so delicious, I would love to taste a slice with honey! And your chicken sounds and looks wonderful too – very nicely done!

    Have a great weekend!

  5. Bread experiments are the best kind – it seems no matter what, its still better than those sad loaves at the store.
    Your chicken looks like it came out well – tomato or not…

  6. Your swirly bread looks delicious! Mine had a hole in it and I didn’t even add any cool swirls. I skipped FFWD this week because it didn’t sound all that great to me but it seems like everyone else liked it. Guess I’ll have to try it one of these days…

  7. Smoked paprika seems perfect. I was thinking of using that instead of chili powder. This dish was all about the peppers, so I think that leaving out the tomatoes wouldn’t effect it too much. Glad you enjoyed it.

  8. I got a similar gap effect in my raisin nut swirls, but it didn’t show up until I froze the bread. Haven’t seen that before. Your chicken “bass-kez” plate looks fine without the tomato!

  9. oh but convenience is worth it sometimes :) looks great!

Tell me what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 383 other followers

