Eastern Mediterranean Pizzas

Hiya. I am super short on time today, so I will just give you a series of not so random comments about this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe, Eastern Mediterranean Pizzas.

IMG_7018

I have a memory of a version of these that I ate during my summer spent in Israel many years ago. These are good, but not much like the memory of what I had. We liked them with some pickled veggies that I made based on this recipe.

IMG_7007

I liked that the dough could be made days ahead of time, which I did and it all worked out just fine.

IMG_7014

It was quite a sticky dough to roll out, so that was not as fun as it could have been.

IMG_7013

I made way more filling than the recipe and also left out the tomatoes, but added in some roasted eggplant, zucchini, and onion that we had leftover from another dinner. If you have access to sumac, I would advise that you use it here. Yummy.

IMG_7015

They look kinda blah just out of the oven, but smell good. I made the whole batch of dough and made 16 of these little pizzas. The ones we didn’t eat got wrapped in foil and frozen for easy future meals.

IMG_7017

It does benefit from a little extra color and crunch. How did you like these?

Posted on August 6, 2013, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I liked the plain pitas I made better than the pizzas, but it was a fun project. Sumac would have been nice on these.

  2. Great pics! Your pizzas look so good. So nice and puffy around the edges. And I like that you added the veggies for a little colour and crunch! Yum!

  3. Love the look of those veggies on top!

  4. Those pickled vegetables are so colorful!

Tell me what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 378 other followers

