Double the Chocolate

I have to admit that when I saw the recipe selection for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie group, I groaned inwardly. I’ve just spent the last few weeks making over 125 pounds of cookie dough for our fund raiser and I was more in the mood for cake or pie. But, that was before and now that I have made the recipe, I am not sorry I did.

IMG_7740

These cookies are not your typical cookie. The preparation leans more towards cake with the whipping of the eggs and sugar.

IMG_7734

The chocolate and butter are melted together. Yes, I know there are some huge blocks of chocolate there. I am lazy about chopping chocolate. I try to get the husband to do it when I can and when he can’t, I try to get by without.

IMG_7732

When the batter is all done, it is really soft and loose, which is why it needs to go in the fridge for awhile.

IMG_7736

I did depart from the recipe a little here. I only had the batter in the fridge for about an hour. I was afraid that if it set too firmly, I would have trouble scooping it out. So, I scooped while the batter was still soft, but stiff enough to hold its shape. Then, I covered the pans with plastic wrap and stuck them back in the fridge to finish their cooldown.

IMG_7737

They took about 15 minutes to bake, longer than stated in the recipe, which is probably attributable to the cold pan. I ate one when it was still slightly warm and it was heavenly. The cookie just melted in my mouth, which is just what I hoped it would do since I had some dental work done last week and am still on soft foods. I had no trouble at all eating one of these and it made me very, very happy.

IMG_7742

I got 34 out of my batch. 24 of them got baked and the rest are in the freezer for another day. In an effort to keep as many of these cookies to myself as possible, I also made a batch of ninjabread men for the boys and their friends, who happened to be playing at our house when I was baking. With the coffee content, they are decidedly adult cookies, unless you like your children to be sleepless, which we try to avoid as much as possible. The coffee flavor is not overpowering and they have a nice light texture. Everyone who had one liked them, so I’d say they were a success!

Posted on November 19, 2013, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Well, you haven’t led me astray yet! I guess these’ll be next on my list :)

  2. I agree, these double chocolate cookies are incredible. The texture, the taste, the easy way to make them…… A winner!
    I had to deep freeze mine as well, to keep them out of my sight ;-)
    I love your gingerbread karat̩ man Рgingerbread cookies are one of my fav.!

  3. Oh, boy, you’ve baked a lot of cookies! But I’m glad you didn’t miss these winners!

  4. Whoa, that is a whole lot of cookie dough to make. So glad you decided to try these anyways…they really are a great cookie!

  5. I did not bother chopping the chocolate that was to be melted either – just broke it up by hand. A success they were! Your cookies look wonderful. :)

  6. Gotta say I like the Ninjabread! Good thinking about putting the cookie dough on the sheet and then popping it into the fridge. That was a really good idea.

  7. Your cookies look fantstic!

  8. Those ninja cookies are hysterical!

  9. The ninja cookies are cute! Glad you enjoyed the sinful chocolate cookies! :)

  10. I LOVE the crackle crust you achieved. Thanks for the tip on scooping and baking later. Gorgeous.

  11. Your cookies look very decadent! And I love the ninja men cookie shapes!

  12. Katie @ Counter Dog

    Smart thinking to find someone else to do the hard work (chopping chocolate) Hope you shared a few cookies with him at least :)

  13. Yours are so wonderfully crinkly! These were good weren’t they! I got about 3 dozen too. Smart to scoop them and then chill!

  14. Wow – you have been busy with cookies. They look great and love the ninjabread men :-)

Tell me what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 372 other followers

