Christmas Essentials

After a week of being very ill, I am finally feeling better. Not 100% yet. I am still fighting off the dregs of that infection, but well enough that I could at least bake a couple of essential Christmas treats in our house.

First, Panettone.

IMG_7974

The husband tells me this is the best one yet. I think I need to make it again this year. I don’t think I will hear any objections. Making the recipe just once a year is not really enough to adequately perfect a technique. Also, I did not feed my sourdough starter as many times as usual before mixing the final dough so it was a tad more sour tasting than I would like.

Second, Holiday Babka.

IMG_7973

Ok, this is the first time I have made this. Basically, I took my Sourdough Not Flatbread recipe and added some rummy fruit mix and some extra grated citrus zest to it. Then, I rolled it out, slathered it with a chocolate butter mixture, and shaped it like a babka. It is fabulous and I will definitely be making this again. I may even post a recipe, but I guess it would be a little late for most of you. Hmm. Maybe next year.

Thirdly, but not finally, Pandoro.

IMG_7982

Ok, This dough did not behave like it has in years past so it has also not turned out the same. The dough seemed uneven and never really smoothed out the way it was supposed to. I may have to make this one again, too, just to see if I can figure out what went wrong. There was virtually no oven spring. Odd. We don’t know how it tastes yet because this is our Christmas morning treat, but at least if it is bad, we have the other two treats to fall back on.

IMG_7979

Anyway, this baking has used up all my energy, so we are ordering chinese food delivery for Christmas Eve dinner–no dishes, yay! My dear readers, may you have a lovely and sweet holiday, wherever you are!

Posted on December 24, 2013, in Baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. So glad to hear that you are finally feeling better! My Christmas will definitely be sweeter because of your cookies! Blessings to all of you…

  2. That panettone looks marvelous. Might have to try that myself next year. I bet its 100% better than the ones you buy. Merry Christmas to you all.

  3. Have a wonderful Christmas!

Tell me what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 387 other followers

