Chocolate Mascarpone Cheesecake

Normally, I do not make cheesecakes, mostly because I cannot eat them, being lactose intolerant. However, I was a little curious about this one and I needed something to take to share with some friends, so I thought I would give this week’s TwD recipe a try.

IMG_8217

Cheesecakes don’t have a ton of ingredients and the method to making them is not too difficult, but there are some things that can go wrong. As cheesecake recipes go, this one is pretty easy and straightforward.

IMG_8211

I was thrown off at first because there is no crust that is baked with it. I used a 9 inch springform pan and lined it parchment, even though the recipe did not say to do so. I think that it made it easier to get out of the pan.

IMG_8215

There is a crust that gets sort of added at the end after you take it out of the pan. Personally, I don’t think this was necessary. The cake would have been fine without it.

IMG_8214

The water bath helps to prevent cracks in the final product, which I often get, but happily, my cake was crackless this time.

IMG_8207

The hardest part is making sure your cheese mixture is not lumpy. I was not 100% successful in this endeavor, but only I noticed the little white spots, so that’s not too bad.

IMG_8210

The final cake was really smooth and tangy and creamy. I took the cake to a meeting and I think everyone liked it because I only came home with one piece left.

IMG_8218

I served it with some hazelnut caramel sauce that I had leftover from making chocolate caramel cups last week. It was a good compliment to the cake. I have to say that the cake was not as chocolatey as I was expecting. Even though it was good, it did not seem extraordinary, so I am not sure I will ever make it again, but I am glad I made it. It’s always good to keep your skills up, you know?

Posted on February 18, 2014, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. The hazelnut caramel sauce looks, and sounds, delicious!
    Great comment about no cracks when baking in a water bath. I hadn’t thought about that.

  2. Beautiful! Your cheesecake looks perfect!!!
    It’s the best compliment when nothing (or almost) left at the end…
    well done

  3. Love the hazelnut caramel sauce…looks luscious! Your cheesecake is lovely!

  4. That sauce was a fabulous idea!

  5. Thanks for the tip about the water bath! I’m sure my hubby would be happy if I made more cheesecake ;)

  6. looks like a good one. I agree that the dairy overwhelms the chocolate a bit.

  7. Yeah, I just did not get the idea behind having to add the crust after it was baked. Crazy. Your cake looks like it turned out perfectly creamy!

Tell me what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 382 other followers

