Unfocused

Spring is here. I am sure I don’t have to tell you how long and cold this winter has been. You won’t hear me complaining, though, because I have loved everything about this winter (except the month that I was really sick, but that was last year and let’s not dwell on that). I know it’s been hard to tell here on my blog, but we have had a really productive and fruitful winter. Since January alone, I have completed four sweaters, two shawls, and a few other little projects, including a few quilt blocks for my quilt group.

IMG_8347

IMG_8047

IMG_8049

On the school front, we used the cold weather to our advantage and focused hard on some of our tougher subjects and have been able to get ahead a little. In fact, we are so far ahead, that I am planning a two week spring break for my older son, just a one week break for the younger, and we’ll still be done by the end of May. Ahh…all our hard work for the past three months will be so satisfying when we knock off at the end of May while most other kids still have weeks of school left.

Of course, this intense focus cannot be kept up and is just beginning to fade now that finer weather has arrived. All winter, with my knitting, I have been very goal oriented, working on one project at a time until completion. This is actually pretty uncharacteristic of me. I am easily bored, but this winter for some reason, I was really able to focus and get a lot done.

Until last week.

Last week, I started five new projects, but I really have been working on more over the past week. The result of this is a lot of mess without much in the way of progress. It’s as if spring fever has hit my knitting. Want a peek?

IMG_8361

These are all the projects that I have worked on int he past week or so. Is it any wonder that I am feeling a little unfocused and unproductive? Here’s a closer view?

IMG_8362

IMG_8363

Looking at them now, I can see some progress that has been made. Like this sweater here. There’s definitely a few more inches on the body there than there was over a week ago.

IMG_8364

Still, even though I know I could finish some of these fairly quickly if I just focused on them a bit more, I cannot resist casting on something new.

IMG_8365

Spring. It’s here at last.

Posted on April 3, 2014, in Knitting, Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hello
    I follow your blog with interest, especially your quilting, knitting, baking – everything in fact!
    I wonder where you are? I am in East Riding of Yorkshire, England, you must be in North America/Canada – but where are you?!
    You must be considerably younger than me – at 65 I gave up on schooling a long time ago, and have no tinies to knit for – at the moment, but following my younger son’s (34 yrs) wedding on June 14th I hope that will be remedied in the not too distant future!
    Regards, and keep writing,
    Penelope

  2. Gosh, that looks familiar :/

Tell me what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 375 other followers

