Thankful Thursday

Thursdays are typically the hardest day of the week for me.  After the weekend, I have a few very productive days when a lot of baking, schooling, and laundry usually gets done.  However, by the time Thursday rolls around, I get a little tired and sometimes grumpy.  This morning, I had the idea to try to think of something that I am particularly thankful for and talk about it here.  Maybe that would make Thursdays a little better.

So, today, I am thankful for:

Meet Junior, my 6qt KitchenAid mixer.  In this picture, he is whipping up enough buttercream to frost a wedding cake serving 150 people.  It is blurry because he is hard at work.  Junior is my second mixer (hence the name, Junior).  My first mixer deserves his own post, so we will not discuss him much here, except to say that Junior is not his replacement.

Anyhow, Junior allows me to do a lot of things that I love to do, but would be physically hard for me.  Like kneading 3 pounds of bread dough at a time.  Or mixing up meatballs.  Or whipping egg whites. Or mashing potatoes.  Yes, I mash potatoes with my mixer.  I have weak hands and shoulders.  When I was 20, I got bursitis in one shoulder.   Junior literally saves me a lot of pain while allowing me to make things I love.

I like how his arms are always open wide to receive whatever work I give him.  He never complains, either, no matter how stiff the dough gets.  He also cleans up rather nicely.  He does have a loud voice, but I think he’s just trying to be like those jet engines he’s mimicking.  Plus, I think he likes my full attention.  When he’s on, I can’t hear anyone else and everyone who is nearby tends to clear out.  Then, it’s just us two, making good stuff.

Posted on July 14, 2011, in Baking, Stuff I Use, Thankfulness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

