Summer is for Quilting

For some reason, I quilt over the summer.  It started three years ago when I wanted to make the boys matching quilts.  My house is small and I do not have much space to spread out craftwise without taking up dining space or walking space.  So, when a close friend invited/allowed us to invade their big house for a week a few years ago, it seemed like the perfect chance work on my sewing skills.  Thus, my summers of quilting began.  This summer, as soon as the boys were done with school, I took over the school room and set up my sewing machine.  Finally.  A dedicated space for sewing.  Well, at least for a couple of months.  I began right away by making quilt blocks.

And there’s 30 more of these.  These blocks are from this book.  I thought I would try making the lap sized quilt, but after about 20 blocks, I began to dislike the fabric I had chosen.  Somehow the pink just does not go with the Liberty print I paired it with.  Also, I discovered that I had not had my printer settings correct when I had printed out the templates.  As a result, my blocks were not coming out the right size and they were not very consistent with each other.  Drat and double drat!   I had put too much work into it to chuck it, so I pressed on and finally ended up with 32 blocks to make a smaller quilt.

This is the second quilt I have quilted by machine.  I am still getting the hang of it.  Sewing in a straight line sounds easier than it is in practice.  Also, I got to practice sewing half square triangles in bulk.  Those tiny triangles were driving me crazy!   Still, even though I’m not entirely happy with the result, it is a finished, usable quilt, and as my eldest said, it is Mommamade!

Posted on July 20, 2011, in Finished, Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Mommamade! – I love it! Great Job!

  2. Pretty impressive Carie!

Tell me what you think!

