Hot inside and out and Thankful Thursday

Today it’s supposed to be in the high 90s with the heat index above 100.  Right now, it is 8am and almost 80 degrees outside.  Unfortunately, I have a little one that is sick with a stomach bug and a fever that is making him miserable.  It’s hot outside. He’s hot.  Since we are stuck inside, I’ve decided to add to the hotness by baking today.  Which brings me to the object I am thankful for today.

Behold the humble stainless steel bowl.

This is handy for a number of reasons.

Firstly, as its name suggests, it does not stain, even if you fill it with cherry juice.

Secondly, it is lightweight and can be carried around easily.

Thirdly it does not melt on the stove and therefore is useful as a double boiler to melt chocolate or make hollandaise sauce.

Fourthly, it is nice and smooth and easy to clean.

Lastly, and most important to me yesterday and today, it is a great companion for my sick son and it saves me the work of having to clean up everything his stomach is rejecting.

I estimate this lovely bowl has saved me at least several hours of cleaning in the past 24 hours.  And for that, I am truly thankful.

Posted on July 21, 2011, in Stuff I Use, Thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Cool! Were you a Writing Sems major?

  2. It really was hot today and may even be worse tomorrow. Sorry to hear that I is not well. Hope he gets over it quickly.

    I really like the idea of writing about something to be thankful for on your toughest day of the week. And a good stainless bowl is a blessing.

  3. I’m so happy you did not have to clean up after E. But I’m not so sure how I feel about that stainless steel bowl anymore!

Tell me what you think!

