The search for the perfect Blueberry Muffin

Blueberry muffins are one of the best loved muffins everywhere.  I haven’t met a person who doesn’t like a blueberry muffin.  I grew up with those muffins you buy in grocery store bakeries or, even worse, prepackaged in a convenience store.  When I was a kid, I didn’t know that they were artificially flavored.  I just knew they were sweet and fruity and I liked them.  It wasn’t until I was an adult that I tasted a real blueberry muffin from a real bakery that used real blueberries.  Until that moment, I don’t think I ever had a fresh blueberry.

Now, only, umm several, years later, I am very familiar with blueberries and I am always looking for a good blueberry muffin recipe.  I’ve tried many over the years, and I like them all, in the sense that a homemade blueberry muffin just warm out of the oven is a little piece of heaven, no matter what the recipe.

This week I made two new blueberry muffin recipes and they were very different.

The first was made when I was doing a couple of other things at the same time and I couldn’t add a camera to the mix, so I have no photos.  It was this gluten free recipe and I made it for a very dear friend with Celiac’s disease.  The recipe was easy and the muffins really puffed up in the oven.  I made 7 muffins instead of the 6 and they were really yummy.  My only complaint is that, after I took them out of the oven, they deflated by about half.  Still, they were soft and not overtly GF.  For anyone wants to bake gluten free, I highly recommend the All-purpose gluten free flour blend from King Arthur.  It’s not gritty at all.  They also have a fair number of GF recipes on their site that look good.

The second batch of blueberry muffins was also a new recipe for me. It starts with the zest and juice of one orange:

Citrus and blueberries go really well together.  The batter came together fairly easily, just the usual quick bread stir it all together in one bowl method.  Even the crumb topping was easy, though I needed a little more flour to get it to the right crumbly consistency.  It looked great going into the oven.

and out of the oven

I really liked the crumb topping.  It was nice and crunchy, but not too sweet.  My younger son ate the top of his muffin and didn’t want the rest.  For this muffin, I would agree with him.  The recipe uses oil for its fat instead of butter and I think I missed the butter flavor.  Also, my enjoyment of these muffins could have been influenced by the fact that my elder son was sick with a stomach bug that decided to rear its head just as they were coming out of the oven.  I couldn’t eat anything for a couple of hours.

Anyway, if you’re interested, the recipe is from this book.  For me, the search for the perfect blueberry muffin will continue…

Posted on July 22, 2011, in Baking, Recipe reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The gf muffins were delicious- thank you!!!!!! Thanks for posting the link to the recipe- I was going to ask you for it!

Tell me what you think!

