Favorite Pie

In our house, pie is a treasured dessert.  I do not make it as often as I do cakes and cookies.  It’s the pie crust.  You have to make it ahead of time and it is a good deal of work to roll it out and cut up whatever you need.  Then, you have to wait for hours after it is baked to eat it.   Once it is cool, it must be consumed within 24 hours because, really, it tastes the best that first day.

However, it is my husband’s favorite dessert (and breakfast–why not?  There’s fruit in it, after all.)  and he jealously guards it.  If he lets you have a piece of pie that I have made, you should feel honored because only very close friends and family are allowed to have a piece of pie.  And no one, I mean no one except the four of us who live in this house, has ever been allowed to have a piece of his Favorite pie.  Actually, that’s not strictly true.  Last summer, I made this pie when my BFF from high school came to visit..  She is the only one who has had a taste of this pie.

Blueberry Nectarine Pie.

I’ve been making this pie for about 12 years.  The original recipe came from Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan.   However, the way I make it now is nothing like the recipe in the book.  First of all, I am always trying new crust recipes, so that is ever changing.  Also, the original recipe calls for flour in the filling and you have to cook part of it before it goes in the crust, which means it also has to cool.  All of that is a little fussy for me these days and I do not like the taste of flour in my fruit fillings.  I think it gets in the way of the fruit flavor.  So, I use this.

It’s a great thickener.  It absorbs all your yummy fruit juices and gives the filling a nice texture, especially with berry pies.

Today, I made two pies.  One for now, and one to put in the freezer for later.

So, I’m sorry that I cannot offer you a piece of this pie.  But, I would like to know, what is your favorite pie?

Posted on July 23, 2011, in Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Blueberry is first, lemon chess might be second, and either sour cherry ir peach is third. Pie is far superior to cake, in my opinion. Miss you!

  2. My favorite is blueberry pie with a streusal (sp?) topping. The best I have ever eaten was made by Barbie Lang but I know you could outdo that!

  3. My great-grandmother’s chocolate cream pie is my favorite. My mother makes it perfectly!

Tell me what you think!

