Pie filling Recipe

Yesterday, after I published my post, it occurred  to me that, although I could not give you a piece of pie, I could give you the recipe for the pie filling.  I usually follow an already published recipe which I could not give you for copyright reasons.  However, I’ve changed this one so much from the original, that I think I can call it my own now.   So, if you’re interested in making the pie pictured yesterday, all you have to do is make or buy your favorite pie crust, put in the filling, and you’ve got my husband’s favorite pie all for yourself.  And I won’t tell if you choose not to share it.

Blueberry Nectarine Pie filling

1.5 pounds or about 4 cups of blueberries, rinsed and picked over for stems

3 yellow nectarines, slices thinly

1/2 of a lemon, grated and juiced

3/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup minute tapioca

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375.

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well.

Let stand for 15 minutes to let the tapioca soften up.  This is a good time to get your pie crust ready.

Pour into prepped pie crust and top with another pie crust. Trim and seal the edges.  Make sure you cut some holes in the top for steam to escape.

Brush pie with heavy cream or egg white.  Sprinkle with coarse sugar.

Bake for about an hour or until the crust is nicely browned and filling is bubbling in the center of the pie.

Let cool at least until lukewarm before cutting.  This takes 2-3 hours.

Enjoy!

Posted on July 24, 2011, in Baking, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This recipes sounds delicious and I agree with you in that I don’t enjoy flour taste in my fruit filling. I will definitely buy the tapioca powder and give this a try before the summer is up (not too much of a time constraint). Thanks for sharing

Tell me what you think!

