Totally Blown Away

Remember the other day when I was talking about the quilt show?  When I went the first day, I spent all my time in the vendor hall, looking around at all the stuff for sale and doing a little power shopping.  On the second day, I went to the vendor hall again and purchased some things that I had “slept on” and still wanted.  Then, I headed over to the show quilt display.

What I saw there totally blew me away.  First, there was the display of antique quilts, most appliqueed in the Baltimore Album quilt style.  I have no pics of those because it was not allowed.  They are considered museum quality and the flashes might damage them over time.  I was suitably impressed and awed by the skill of these women of a hundred years ago or more.  They were beautiful.

But let me tell you, nothing could have prepared me for the amazingness of the show quilts.  Remember how I was mentioned that quilting could be an art or a craft?  Well, these definitely fall into the category of art.  There were mini quilts that were no bigger than a square foot, but looked like a full sized quilt in detail.  There were quilts with dragons, kimono ladies, trees, birds, and more.  There was one huge quilt made up of 12,256 little hexagons, all hand sewn together and then the whole quilt was hand quilted.  And I’m only describing the front of the quilts.  The backs were just as amazing.

I wish I could show you pictures, but, even though they allowed pics to be taken of the show quilts, they request that they not be shown on the internet.   If you really want to see some, and you live close by, I’ll be glad  to show you my pictures if you want to come by.

Instead, I can show you what I bought.  It’s not the same, I know, but it’ll have to do.

I bought some red and black batik (and one blue that I had to have).  The ones on the bottom were hand batiked by a very nice lady at Handloom Batik.  They also had some lovely printed fabrics, but that was not on my list, so I refrained.

Here’s some red and white fabric and yet another blue one that I “had to have.”  Do you detect a color scheme?

Lastly I bought some notions.

A rainbow of pearl cotton for quilting and the little sister to my pink thimble.  The orange one does fit better.  There was more that I was tempted to buy, but I didn’t want to get carried away.  A person has only so much time to craft, you know.  Plus, there’s always next year.

Going to this quilt convention was really a revelation for me.  A person could drown in all the inspiration.  But, learning to swim in it will be much more fun.

Posted on July 30, 2011, in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I look forward to seeing the product of these purchases. I’m sure it will be amazing!

  2. those reds are lovely. my fave color!

Tell me what you think!

