Jam Jar Winners!

After I put up my last post, I thought I better go and count how many jars of jam I have in the cupboard.  So I took myself down to the basement where we have a second set of kitchen cabinets that serves as my pantry area.

I’ve been making jam for about a year now.  We eat, on average, a jar of jam a week.  All those pieces of toast and Pb&Js really add up after awhile.  I jam whatever is in season at the time.  So, I made berry jams and peach jams last summer.  Then, in the fall I made some pear butter and in the winter, I made marmalade.  That’s not so bad, but a jar of jam a week, it is not.

So, this year I decided I had to up my game.  But, I think I went a little overboard.  I had to count and recount several times to make sure I was doing it right.

Are you ready for the final count?

67 Jars.

That’s right, you read it right.

That’s when I decided that I was going to award everyone who made a guess a jar of jam (of course it helped that there weren’t too many guesses–what’s up with that?  Don’t you guys like jam?)

So, if you made a guess, I will be emailing you and you get to choose from this list of jams (and yes, I’m listing them so everyone will know what they missed)

Strawberry

Strawberry Rhubarb

Lemony Pineapple Pear with Vanilla

Blueberry Raspberry

Cherry Grapefruit with Vanilla

Mixed Berry

Orange Marmalade

Peach Strawberry

Peachy Cherry Vanilla

Lemony Blueberry Plum

Plum Apricot

Wow-and this doesn’t include a few other types of jam that I have made, but have very little of (meaning less than 4 jars) and therefore, I must hoard it–sorry!

Well, now that I’ve got my jam situation under control, I have to go tackle this:

25 pounds of Roma tomatoes for $10 at the Farmer’s Market.  Tomato sauce, here I come!

Posted on August 15, 2011, in Canning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Talk about tomato sauce, Carie. My garden this year has gone crazy. I was inspired by you to start canning this year and am making sauce every other day. I’ve got 18 jars of sauce so far. But, 67 jars of jam, really? Just the extras you couldn’t make into full jars alone and had to eat must be 10 jars… Wow – impressive!

  2. Oh rats! I forgot to send in my guess…wow, that is a LOT of jam!

Tell me what you think!

