5 Reasons Why You Should Go to the Fair as an Adult

When I was a teenager, I liked going to the fair to ride the rides and hang out with my friends.  I went to the state fair for the first time in many years two years ago.  It was hot.  And crowded.  I found that I didn’t want to ride any rides.  I wondered why any adult would want to go to the fair.  Well, clearly, I have found some good reasons to go, because we have returned every year since 2009.

Five Reasons to go to the Fair

1.  The animals are very interesting.  They range from huge.  If you are lucky you might see one give birth or be allowed to milk one.

to wee little-just hatched chicks

to unusual-an injured golden eagle.  Here’s the lesson, if you go out hunting, please do not shoot eagles (or any other animals that you are not allowed to shoot).  It is sad to see one try to fly when they cannot.

2.  The food.  Fried Shrimp.

Corn on the Cob and Peach Sundae are also faves, but they were devoured too quickly to photograph.

3.  Honey.  Where else can you buy local honey for your allergies?  Buy a big jug.  We did.

4.  Bumper Cars.  This never gets old, though you might have a stiff neck the next day.

5.  Lastly, I like to look at the Home Arts exhibit.  Sadly, we just breezed through it at the end of the day and I have no pictures, but it’s always interesting to see what quilt, knits, pictures, jams, etc. other people make.  Maybe next year I’ll enter something.

Today is the last day of the MD state fair.  I hope you made it.  Or, if you live elsewhere, keep an eye out for your local fair.  There’s always something interesting to see.

Posted on September 5, 2011, in Family Fun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for the pics! I miss the MD state fair.

Tell me what you think!

