It Is Always Worth It to Try Something New

There are people who love to try new things and I am one of them.  I like variety, especially in my food.  When I was younger, I even disliked leftovers because it was the same thing I already had before ( I like leftovers a little more now that I have a larger family and leftovers means I can skip cooking a meal).

Thankfully, most of my family (except one who will remain unnamed, but those who know us will know who I’m talking about) is also game to try new things.  The only complaint I ever really get is from the husband.  He loves the variety, but sometimes the variety means that he doesn’t get the same meal twice, like ever.  Well, that’s not strictly true, but it is pretty rare for me to cook the same thing more than once in a month and sometimes it takes longer than that.

I just love to try new things and learn new things.  I am always reading new cookbooks and looking for new recipes to try.   As much as possible, I like to make my own stuff, even condiments like mayonnaise.  Usually, it just tastes better and it’s cheaper to boot.  I am especially enamoured with foods from around the world.  Not only does it keep our meals more interesting, I think it gives everyone an appreciation for the other cultures and foods of the world.  I haven’t met a cuisine I don’t like, though Ethiopian is Really Spicy, even more so than Korean, if that’s possible!

Sometimes, trying new things happens sort of by accident.  Last week, when our dear GF friend was coming over, I realized I had forgotten the corn tortillas that were supposed to go with our Mexican-inspired meal.  At the time, it was raining torrentially.  It was the kind of rain that makes you wonder if the house is going to float away.  There was no way I was going to the store.   I’d always heard that tortillas were not hard to make and I just happened to have a recipe from this book.

I decided to give it a try and this is how it went down:

First, making the dough was a cinch.  It’s just this special cornmeal you buy at the store called Maseca.  I just happened to have a bag of it, only because I had intended months ago to make tamales, but never got around to it.  You may have to go to a Mexican grocery to find it, but I have seen it at well-stocked stores.   To the cornmeal you add water, salt, and oil.  Easy.  Then, I let it rest.

After about an hour, we got the kids involved.  I rolled the dough into balls and put them between two squares of parchment.  I gave the boys a small, heavy frying pan  (I know!  I was worried, too, but I kept them on opposite sides of the table).  Then, I “showed” them how to flatten each ball into a round, flat tortilla.  I put the word “showed” in quotation marks, because I had no idea what I was doing-Ha!  I made the first couple and then they did the rest, with a little help from the husband and our friend.

ANYway, the boys developed their own technique pretty quickly.  The younger had the full body technique.

Watching the boys do this is reason alone to do this again.  It was Hilarious!

The last step is to put them on a frying pan for a few minutes.  I found it a little tricky at first because they kept cracking, especially when I flipped them, but once we started making them a little thicker, all went well.

The last ones that came of the pan looked the best.

And how did they taste?

They were Amazing.  They had a nice smooth texture and when they were warm, they almost felt fluffy.  They were nothing like their grocery store counterparts.   There was no grittiness or hardness and there was a subtle corn flavor.  They stayed soft for several hours, though they did have a tendency to crack when they were cold (but so do the grocery ones).

We had kind of a lot leftover because when I measured I accidentally put in twice the amount of salt.  You know what you have to do when that happens?  That’s right, double the recipe.

I might try to make my own tortilla chips next.

Posted on September 12, 2011, in Cooking, Family Fun, Gluten Free, Recipe reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love this idea and your posts are so fun to read! Very inspiring! Keep it up! : )

Tell me what you think!

