3 cakes, 1 pie, and 5 mini pies

Not much crafting got done this weekend, but there was lots of baking.  We had a triple birthday party on Saturday amongst the framily (friends that are as close as family, if you’re wondering).  I am the designated cake baker, so it was especially busy for me, but I do love to show my love for people through baked goods.

So, I made half of a coconut cake  (because there was just going to be too much leftover if I didn’t cut something in half), a GF brownie cake (you’ve already seen a picture of this here) and a birthday apple crumb pie.

Now, I had an extra disc of pie dough left after making the crumb pie, so I thought I’d take a stab at making some of those hand pies that seem to be growing popular.

First I rolled out the pie dough and cut out 10 circles.  This involved re-rolling the scraps three times, but I wanted to use it all up.  I put a little filling on top of 5 discs and then topped them with the other five.  A little X in the top, a sprinkling of raw sugar, and it was ready to bake.

What’s not to love about a personalized pie that you can hold in your hand and eat?  This was made especially easy because I used pie filling that I made last fall and put into the freezer.  Isn’t it cute?

Oh, and because these things always comes in waves, I baked another cake today for my ladies’ crafting group.  Plum Streusel Coffee Cake.

This one will get a toffee glaze when it is served tonight.  The recipe is from Ready for Dessert by David Lebovitz.

Phew!  I’m ready to do a little knitting now, please!

Posted on September 19, 2011, in Baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

