Time for a Break

At the end of the last school year, I got a little frazzled around the edges.  There was a loooong stretch of school between the winter holidays and Easter break.  This year, I’ve decided to try out a different schedule.  Not really a year-round school schedule, but one in which we take breaks for a week every six weeks or so.  This week has been our “week off” and I am really glad I decided to do this.

Now, this doesn’t mean we do Nothing.  Heaven forbid that Nothing gets done in this house!  Ha!

Actually, the boys have been doing a few little independent work type things and we’ve done a couple of fun projects to prep us further for Williamsburg this weekend.

On Monday, we made butter.  It was more fun than we expected, especially when the bottom of one of the jars fell out.  There was cream everywhere and I am so sad I didn’t get a picture to show you.  I was just getting ready to take a picture when it happened and then my housey instincts kicked in and I put the camera down to Clean It Up.  Oh well.  It was still a great time, even with a greasy floor and the boys now having to share a jar.

See, doesn’t it look fun?  We put five marbles in a pint jar with about 1/2 cup of cream.  Amazingly, we discovered that before it turns into butter, there’s whipped cream!  No more getting out the mixer for whipped cream in this house!  We’re going to use a jar and kid power from now on.  Anyhow, there was a lot of butter at the end of it.  I was really impressed.

The boys also finished these and I have to say, I think they look terrific.

The boys are really proud of their work and they should be.  Even with the mistakes they made and the unevenness, it was something crafted by them.  And there were a lot of good lessons learned, too.  Among them, patience, looking at details, and even some color theory.

It was a great project to do and very practical too.  As my oldest said, “I made it with my own hands.”  And, isn’t that the essence of why we craft?

Posted on September 22, 2011, in Family Fun, Finished, Homeschool, Misc. Crafts, Thankfulness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

