A Bread Worth Giving Up Meat for

So, I am not Jewish, but I love Challah.  However, my favorite Challah is not the kind that you will find in a store.  Those Challahs are generally very good and will do just fine if I don’t have time to make my own, but I will always prefer this challah.  Do you know why?

Well, firstly, if you are not familiar with traditional Jewish dietary law (and I am no expert myself, but I think I know a few things, though I could always be wrong), they are not supposed to eat dairy with meat.  Dairy includes butter.  My favorite challah has butter And milk in it.  Therefore, unless a traditional Jewish person plans a vegetarian or fish meal, they would not have this challah with their meal.  This does not mean they cannot eat it at all–it just means they have to make choices about when they will eat it and with what.

I just love the eggy buttery taste of this challah.  Making this recipe always makes me happy because it produces two very large, beautiful loaves of bread.  The kosher salt and crunchy seeds on the top are perfect garnishes for the sweet, soft, egginess of the bread.

This bread is good made into a sandwich, as toast with jam,  and just plain, by itself.  If you have any that goes stale (and that is actually really rare in this house), it makes wonderful french toast and bread pudding.

This is really not a hard recipe.  It’s from Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan.  I have been making this bread for over ten years and it always turns out wonderfully.  The dough is smooth and easy to work with.  The trickiest parts are forming the braid and waiting to eat it until it is cool.  Waiting to eat it is really hard.

I have a feeling that if I were Jewish, I might become a vegetarian, just so I could eat this bread anytime I want.

Posted on September 28, 2011, in Baking, Recipe reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Beautiful, l’shana tova (HAPPY JEWISH NEW YEAR!)

  2. So, are you sharing the recipe for your never-fail Challah bread? 🙂

  3. This looks tasty. It has been several years since I have made challah but perhaps that is something I can do in the near future.

Tell me what you think!

