Three Bags Full

This weekend, we traveled to Rhinebeck, New York for the annual New York Sheep and Wool Festival.  This our third year going to the festival and I had lots of plans to take pictures and blog along the way, but somehow, just never got around to it.  Maybe it was the crowds of people or maybe I’m a little self conscious taking pictures in public and I know I was too shy to take pictures of the famous knitterly people I saw.  In any case, the only pictures I have to share with you from the festival are those I took of the real stars of a sheep and wool festival: Sheep!

Isn’t he cute?

And some of them were really friendly, too.

The alpacas were adorable as well.  I just love their big brown eyes.

If it weren’t for these guys, we wouldn’t have the lovely wool we love to craft with.  I managed to procure a little of that wool to bring home with me as well.  After all, I couldn’t look at all those lovely sheep and not want to bring some home, but I don’t think the neighbors would like that, so I settled for wool (and a few books).

Isn’t that just the biggest cone of yearn you’ve ever seen?  It’s 3.93 pounds (yes, Pounds!) of fingering weight sock yarn.  It’s enough to make at least 3 sweaters or 13 pairs of socks.  I think I will have to ponder that a bit, but I have some crazy fun ideas for it already–the only problem is, any project I make with it will have to stay at home because there is no way I am lugging around that cone!  All in all, another very satisfactory weekend at Rhinebeck and I’m already looking forward to next year.

Posted on October 18, 2011, in Family Fun, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

