A (very) Brief Brush with Fame

I am going to preface this post by declaring that I am Not a groupie or a stalker.  Those people who are famous whom I admire, I am content to admire from afar.  After all, their lives are complicated enough, right?  They don’t need little old me making their lives more difficult.

However, this past week, I got to meet two people whose work I really admire and I tried really hard not to say anything dumb or be too crazy.  I think I succeeded, maybe.

The first is Clara Parkes.  She was at Rhinebeck and I got to talk to her for a minute while she admired my hat and sweater and then she signed her new book for me.  Truly, she is an amazing person and her books are full of really fascinating information and also some really great patterns.  She is like the wool whisperer in the knitting world.  I was thrilled to get to meet her and even more thrilled that she liked my knitting!

The second person is Stephanie Pearl-McPhee.  She came to Baltimore and I drove in rush hour traffic in the rain on the beltway to hear her speak and get a book signed by her.  If you know me at all, you will know that 1) I hate to drive 2) especially with traffic and 3) on the highway and 4) in the rain.  So, I must really like her to go through all that.  And I do.  She’s just as funny in person as she is on her blog and she makes all us crazy knitters feel sane.  The husband calls her the Rock Star of the knitting world and he’s probably right.  The store sold out of books–I got there just in time to buy one of the last five they had left.

Anyhow, I am most excited because she took some pictures and I am in one of them!  Go see if you can spot me in the first big group picture on her blog.  I am the one with the very colorful sweater.  So, now I have a signed book by her and I am pictured on her blog!  (Never mind that I am one of a hundred pictured–it’s a thrill to have a picture of me on a blog that is not mine!)

I know that these awesome people will never remember me, but I will remember them and I’ll always have these to remind me that I really did meet them.

That was my really brief brush with fame.  I’d love to hear yours.  What famous people have you met?

Posted on October 21, 2011, in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

