One Extra Hour

Every year I look forward to the day when we get to turn back our clocks and gain an extra hour.  This year, I have been anticipating it for over a month now.   The boys and I have been getting up a little later, probably because the sun is getting up later.  This would be great if it weren’t for the fact that we have work to do and places to go and sometimes I feel a little pressed for time.  A little breathing space in the morning will help things along.

There is a trade-off, though.  The daylight we gain in the morning is lost in the evening.  And sometimes, that little bit of extra time can fool us into being a little too lazy.  We might dawdle a little more with breakfast or take a little extra time checking the email or fiddle with our outfits to look just right (this actually never happens…we are a jeans and t-shirt sort of family).

What I would really like to have a little extra time for in the mornings is to do a little baking.  Cold cereal and instant oatmeal gets a little tiresome after awhile.   A nice freshly baked muffin or scone would be nice every once in awhile.  It would also be nice to have one of these everyday.

Yum!  A homemade breakfast burrito/taco made with our own homemade corn tortillas.  Now, in the interest of full disclosure, I did not make this myself.  The husband took a day off and made these for us for breakfast.  I wish he were home for breakfast EVERYday!  (He did forget the bacon, but I decided to forgive him.)

Well, what about you?  What would you do if you had an extra hour everyday?

Posted on November 8, 2011, in Baking. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I would read more. Forget the housework.

Tell me what you think!

