Three Things I Hate to Do

There are two types of people in the world:  Procrastinators and Not Procrastinators.  The husband is a procrastinator.  I have one son who is also a procrastinator, though the other is not.

Me?  I’m sorta on the fence.  Ordinarily, I am not a procrastinator.  I am a planner.  I schedule things and get things done.  I plan ahead so that I will not have to scramble to finish something at the last minute.  I do not like the stress of uncertainty.  Procrastination is really a control issue, right?  When do you like to have your stress?  Some people work well under pressure.  Their brains go into some higher gear or something when a deadline is looming and there is a certain amount of uncertainty over whether a task will get done or not.  Other people freeze up when a deadline is too close.  These are the more cautious souls.  These are the ones who leave room for unplanned issues.  Under a deadline, I am not a procrastinator.  I work well under stress, but I do not enjoy it, so I do my utmost to avoid it.  For most of the so called “important” things in life, I am not a procrastinator.

However, there are some tasks that I do tend to procrastinate over and I tackled three of them this week.  It almost sent me over the edge and into the streets screaming.  I was so close to this edge that the boys started to avoid me when I was engaged in my tasks.  If I had gone to the doctor to have my blood pressure taken, I am sure it would have been through the roof.  These three things annoy me so much that I am afraid I turned into a weird, grumbling under my breath, screaming occasionally at inanimate objects, and cursing silently in my mind kind of monster.

What three things could possibly send me into such an altered state?

Hateful task #1:  Going through my archives of digital pictures, choosing the ones to be printed, and sending them off to be printed.  I had over a year’s worth of photos to go through and I absolutely hated every second of it.  In fact, I hated it so much that I don’t even want to tell you why I hate it because I don’t want to think about it anymore now that it is done.  And here is my stack of 307 photos that my loving husband went to pick up for me at the store.  Now, I have to put them in albums.  Groan!

Hateful task #2: Untangling Yarn.  I do not mind winding a ball of yarn.  In fact, I quite enjoy it.  These hanks of yarn, however, were all tangled from my indigo dyeing session.  I don’t want to tell you how many times I contemplated getting out the bourbon/ kirsch/ rum/ wine during this task.  And if I hadn’t dyed the blankety blank yarn myself I might have chucked it in the garbage.  But, I persevered (with a little help from my oldest and my husband) and got it all wound up.  I only had to throw away a little ball of yarn that I might have abused was too tangled to salvage.

Hateful Task #3:  Organizing the School Papers.  You would think that I like organizing, given my non-procrastinating nature, but, no.  I actually really dislike it.  We are one third of the way through our school year and I had not put away a single paper until today.  This year, I decided to get the boys in on the task and I am not sure if that made it harder or easier.  All I can say is, it’s done, and I am glad I don’t have to do that for awhile!  (I am sure they feel the same way.)

It was probably not a good idea that I tackle all three of these projects in the same week, but sometimes that’s just the way it goes.  They had been hanging over my head for awhile and I thought it would be easier to face them and take them down in one fell swoop.  Do I feel better?  Yes and No.  There is some relief that I won’t have to do these things for awhile, but I am afraid that once the monster has been awoken, it’s a little hard to put it back to sleep.  Spending so much time in a super annoyed state has left me kind of twitchy and jumpy.  Hopefully, I will get over that soon — as long as I avoid those 7 bins of clothes that need organizing…

What kinds of everyday tasks annoy you and how do you cope with them?

Whew!  Do you think I deserve a cookie now?

Posted on November 11, 2011, in Finished. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have the Closet of Doom to clean out. There is not enough alcohol to make that job more pleasant.

  2. Gosh, tangled yarn reduces me to tears every time. You are a saint to persevere.

Tell me what you think!

