Sweet and Sour in 2012

Lots of bloggers are posting about new year’s resolutions, goals, or doing retrospective things for 2011.  I had some grand thoughts at the beginning of this week to finish up some outstanding projects, clean up the house, clean out the fridge–you know, the normal out with the old and in with the new kind of stuff.  But, as with many good intentions, life just seemed to take over and none of what I envisioned happening actually got done.

Instead, what I did was sleep in everyday, did a little post Christmas shopping, went to museums with the boys, watched a bunch of movies, and ate out almost everyday.  As I read that last sentence, I realize that we have been having a staycation!  The last six months have been a little crazy busy for us and even when we have gone away, we have been busy.  This week of just hanging out together has been really nice and I do not regret it at all.

However, not being one to stay off the bandwagon, I do have a few things I want to try to do in they new year.

The first has already begun: sourdough.

I have had mixed success with creating my own sourdough starters over the years.  This time, I decided to cheat and I ordered sourdough starter from King Arthur Flour.  It has not disappointed me.

after 8 hours

Right now, I am in the process of testing out some other starter formulas, using the KA one to build them up.  My trouble is that I have a lot of various bread baking books and they all seem to use a different starter formula.  I’m planning to try a whole bunch and see what shakes out in the end.  Will I need to keep all these starters going or can I figure out how to just have one and make what I want with it?

The second thing we are all trying out as a family is: juice.

A couple of months ago, we saw this juicer at an Asian store and stood a little mesmerized as we watched the video.  Since then, it has shown up in a few other stores we have visited and, after reading a disturbing article about commercially sold juices, we decided to try it out.  It’s pretty amazing so far.  The waste stuff that comes out is bone dry (the husband keeps talking about making it into something: fritters or fruit/veggie leather  maybe?).

The juice is pretty yummy and, contrary to the name, it is really fast.  The machine made a half gallon of juice in something like 5 minutes.  There was 20 minutes of prep time, but that’s only because we decided to peel the apples because they were not organic. Cleanup time was only five minutes as well.  This is our attempt to be more healthy in the new year.

The third project I would like to tackle in the new year has to do with a sweater I made awhile ago for the husband for our 15th anniversary.

I designed this sweater myself and I am hoping to make one for myself, write up the pattern, and possibly “publish” it.  There are a couple of things I will need to figure out how to do in the process, but  as long as I’m going to be knitting one for myself, I might as well try to tackle those things as well.  It will be interesting to see how I like this process and whether pattern writing will be something I might like to pursue after it is done.

I think it is always a useful exercise to think about what one has accomplished or learned and to look ahead to new goals and purposes.  As people, we change and learn, whether we want to or not, so we might as well try to change and learn in a more purposeful way.

What are you hoping to accomplish in the new year?

Posted on December 31, 2011, in Baking, Family Fun, Knitting, Stuff I Use and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

