One Last Thing from 2011

Now that the holidays are officially over and everyone has gone back to work or school or both, I think I can show you something that I spent quite a long time working on the last couple of months.

Meet Dad’s Log Cabin Quilt

My Dad lives in a log cabin in the woods.  After we went to visit him this past summer, I decided it would be fun and fitting to make him a log cabin quilt for Christmas.  To make it a little easier, I bought pre-cut strips of fabric so that I would not have to cut it myself and therefore saving myself hours of work.  I also decided not to wash or iron the strips before sewing.  I realized this was a little risky, but I was willing to risk a little shrinkage for the sake of convenience.  I think it turned out okay.

My original plan was to quilt in the ditch horizontally, but I sort of ran out of time in the end.  In order to get it to Dad on time for Christmas, I decided to tie the quilt.  Then, I washed it and dried it before sending it off.

Sorry for the bad lighting, but it was well past dark when the quilt was done and we had to pack it up to ship the next day.  Anyway, I have to say that sewing this was a bit of a snore, but I like the finished product.

I also used the strips for the binding, and I quite liked having a wider strip of fabric for the binding.  Usually, I use 2 inch strips, but these came in 2.5 inch strips.  The extra width made machine sewing the binding much easier.  The finished quilt was about 88 inches square–plenty big enough for a Full/Queen sized bed or just to snuggle up under on the sofa.  This brings the total number of quilts done in 2011 to four (plus one that was languishing for years and just needed the binding).

Here are a few random things I have learned about myself and quilting since I picked it back up in July:

  1. Machine quilting is much faster than hand quilting and therefore more likely to be done.  The proof is in the fact that every quilt that I finished last year was machine quilted.
  2. It is extremely hard to machine quilt in a straight line.  There are lots of wonky lines in my quilts.
  3. I don’t really care that the lines are wonky because I actually have finished quilts that can be used instead of sitting in an unfinished pile.
  4. I do not like to use templates.  I prefer measurements and cut lists.
  5. I still have a lot to learn about quilting.

For the most part, I am pretty happy with the quilting projects that I have accomplished in the past 6 months.

Hopefully, there will be more quilting goodness and lessons for me this year too!

Posted on January 3, 2012, in Finished, Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I bet your dad was thrilled with his Christmas present! It is beautiful and I can tell how much work went into it. So, are all your unfinished projects finished? What’s next? 🙂

  2. That quilt looks wonderful, I love the variations that can be done with a log cabin to brighten up the look of the quilt. Lookingforward to see your next completed project.

Tell me what you think!

