UFO Attack

January is the time for new beginnings.  It’s a new year and seems like a good time to put the past behind us and look toward the future.  It has become one of my favorite times of the year, mostly because of its stark contrast to December.  Don’t misunderstand, I love the holidays and all the business, baking, and hanging out with loved ones.

But January means rest and sleep to me.  It’s a time when it is cold (usually) and I don’t mind.  I sort of snuggle into my house and enjoy cooking soups, baking bread, reading, and starting new knitting projects.  All of this has happened except the last.  Oh, it’s not for lack of desire that I haven’t started any new projects.  It’s because I was attacked.

Yes, friends, I was attacked by UFOs.  For those of you not familiar with the world of knitting, that stands for UnFinished Object.

Normally, I don’t let having a lot of unfinished projects bother me.  It’s my hobby and I enjoy it.  If I feel like starting twenty seven projects and that makes me happy, then I go for it.  However, on New Year’s Day, when I was enjoying my newly begun scarf project, I was attacked when looking for a needle.  What was I attacked by?

This.

IMG_2927

It looks beautiful, doesn’t it?  It’s a blanket I started sometime last year and put it down for some reason or other.  Want a closer look?

IMG_2928

Don’t be fooled.  It might look all pale and innocent, but it most certainly reached out and demanded that I work on it.  I tried to ignore it and look past it, but then I saw this.

IMG_1283

Uh. oh.  It’s that blanket I started last March that I have all knitted up and just needs to be put together.  It was looking at me accusingly.  “It’s winter,” it seemed to say to me.  “Don’t you think it’s time I got finished?”

When I glanced around to avoid the gaze of these two blankets, I only saw a hat, several sweaters, and a couple of shawls, all waiting for me, looking at me, glaring at me.  What could I do?

I surrendered.  And now, instead of starting that new cable sweater for myself or a lovely fair isle pattern for the husband, I am stuck in UFO land.  My shoulders are beginning to ache and my hands are tired from holding heavy, half done projects (new things are lighter and easier on the hands).  I am being held prisoner by my own projects.

Still, I suspect there are worse places to be and, even as I work on some of these projects, I am planning my escape.  This may or may not include starting a new quilt project…shhh…I don’t want the knitting projects to find out!

Posted on January 10, 2012, in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I can totally relate, but you’re way stronger than me! I caved earlier this week and bought new yarn! You can check out my “fall” at http://twyste.com/2012/01/11/i-fell-off-the-wagon/

Tell me what you think!

