New Beginnings

After a month of not starting anything new, I am on the cusp of starting lots of new things.  Big things.  Each project has to do with one of my major obsessions interests.

Sewing/Quilting

The first has started already, sort of.  Early in January, I signed up to be part of an online sewing class with Rachel at Stitched in Color.  We’re going to be learning how to sew curves, which is exciting for me because I’ve never sewn a curve (intentionally) in my life.  Straight line sewing–that’s about all I’ve felt capable of doing.  Anyway, I am hoping to add to my skills in quilting and sewing with this class.  Also, I am really looking forward to connecting more with other crafty sewing people.   We’re just doing introductions now, but real sewing begins on Monday-Yippee!

I am also looking forward to starting a new quilt–one that has been really popular in quilting blogland: the Swoon.  I am looking at my fabric stash now to see what I want to use.  Scraps?  Or a particular theme?  I tend to go two tone with my quilts, but maybe this should be different?  What do you think of these colors?  I am terrible at picking out combinations of fabric.  And my stash is tiny (pictured below is about half of it).  Maybe it’s time to buy some more fabric?

Knitting

I have finally been released on probation from my unfinished objects.  I’ll talk more about that another day, maybe tomorrow.  Right now, I’ll just say that got a lot accomplished (though not as much as I would have liked) and I ripped out a few things that I decided I just did not want anymore–ha, take that, you mob of unfinished objects!

Now, I am finally getting started on my new cabled anniversary sweater and the pattern to match.  The husband is helping me with the charts and I am doing a bit of math to calculate all the different sizes I’d like to include.

Also, I am looking forward to starting some new projects with the Bare Naked Knitspot Club.  This is much like the Fall in Full Color Club I was a part of that ended in January.  It was lovely being part of that club and Anne does a wonderful job with those patterns.  I have liked them all (even though I have yet to make them all).  The new club starting in February will focus on undyed yarns.  Oh!  I was sorely tempted to buy the yarn option with this, but as I actually have a lot of undyed yarn in my stash, I decided to just go for the patterns again.  Sigh.  I know I will regret this as soon as the yarns start coming out, but with lots of trips planned this year…well, let’s just say that we are not made of money!

Baking

One of my all time favorite baking cookbooks is Baking with Julia written by Dorie Greenspan.  You might know this book from the PBS series by the same name with Julia Child as the star and lots of great famous professional bakers.  If you get a chance to watch the show, you should.  It’s really informative and inspiring!

Anyway, I love all things written by Dorie Greenspan, but this Baking with Julia book is my favorite.  So, when I heard that the Tuesdays with Dorie group was planning to bake through the entire book, I joined right away.  Starting next week, every other Tuesday, lots of bloggers around the world will be baking/posting about the same recipe in the book.  The first one is coming up and I’m excited to be a part of it–and wondering if everyone is really going to make that wedding cake by Martha Stewart!  There’s still time to sign up if you want to join us!

And, as always, experiments continue with the sourdough aka “Monster.”  Next up this weekend might (and I stress the might, because I don’t want to get anyone’s hopes up) be sourdough donuts.  Does that sound like a good superbowl snack?

All this is very exciting for me and I am so glad that you are here with me to share it all.  It is much more fun to share these things with friends.  Thank you!

Posted on February 2, 2012, in Baking, Knitting, Quilting, Sewing, Thankfulness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sourdough donuts sounds quite fabulous! I used to make sourdough bread. Ahhh… back before I became addicted to sewing. Anyways, welcome and thanks for posting. It’s nice to meet you!

  2. Wow – you are busy w/lots of projects! I just linked over from the curves class! I thought I’d pop over to my classmates blogs and say hello! =) =) I am becoming a follower so I can see all the fun curvy projects you make!

Tell me what you think!

