30 Minute Sourdough Waffles

Monday, I was feeding the monster and trying really hard to decide if I wanted to bake some bread.  Somehow, I wasn’t feeling up to doing a full-on sourdough baking session, so I made a few waffles with the leftover starter.

Ha!  This is what you get when you have more than one starter to feed.  It’s a good thing our boys are growing because there’s no way the husband and I could keep up with this pace.  I think I have finally come up with a sourdough waffle recipe that I really like (recipe below).  It’s kind of a combination of a few recipes.  If you have just one monster, the recipe will make half of what is pictured above.  Or, if you are starter crazy, like I am, you can multiply the recipe very successfully.  I especially love this recipe because you only need a half hour’s notice to make it.  A lot of other sourdough waffle recipes I have seen require an overnight proofing.  I find that this exhausts the natural leavening power of the yeast and the final waffles do not rise much.  With my recipe, they rise and fill the waffle irons nicely.  With some of them, it was hard to tell which was the bottom and which was the top.  See how thick these waffles are?  They are thicker than my usual buttermilk waffle recipe.  This makes me very happy!

Sourdough Waffles

1 cup (8.25 ounces) 100% hydration sourdough starter

3/4 cup (6 ounces) lukewarm milk

1 cup (5 ounces) all-purpose flour (you can sub up to half of this with white wheat or whole wheat flour)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 Tbsp sugar

2 eggs

4 Tbsp melted butter, cooled

  • Whisk all ingredients in a large bowl until smooth.  Set aside to rest and rise for 20-30 minutes.  This is a good time to cook your bacon, make the coffee, set the table, take a catnap, etc.
  • Heat up your waffle iron until very hot.  Spoon enough batter into each well to just cover the indents.  Cook according to your waffle iron’s specs.
  • Serve with your favorite accompaniments.  The waffles can be frozen for up to a month.
  • The number of waffles you get will depend on your machine.  I got 22 barnyard shapes out of a double batch.
Posted on February 16, 2012, in Recipe, Sourdough and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. The question I have is where did you find the cool shapes for the waffle iron?

  2. I was craving some sourdough starter waffles and these really hit the spot! Thanks for posting. 🙂

  3. Hey there – I found your recipe in a search for waffles using starter. Love the quickness and ease! And FYI, I used water instead of milk, and they came out great! Thanks for the terrific recipe!

  4. Just what I wanted, and no overnight sponge! I used buttermilk…mmm mmm.

  5. Thank you for this recipe. I’m new to sourdough baking. I elected to get started. I’m on day 4 of my starter, and upon dumping out the residual, I had to believe that someone had a good use for this. I’d rather feed my stomach than the trash! I made these waffles this a.m. They were great. I was a little short on the start (7.05 oz) so, I simply made it up with a little more milk and flour.

    Substituted some of the AP flour for WW and cornmeal. Cornmeal adds a nice crunch. Substituting about 1 T per cup is one ratio I work with for waffles.

    Thank you again for a well designed, executed recipe!

Tell me what you think!

