The Tart I Didn’t Think I Would Like

Happy TWD Day!  Is it just me or does it seem like a really long time since our first post two weeks ago?

This week’s recipe is one that I had never made before.  In fact, I honestly thought that I would not like it.

Chocolate Truffle Tart

I have a hot and cold relationship with chocolate.  Mostly, if I had to choose, I would not make or eat chocolate desserts.  However, there are strange times when I have a hankering for chocolate.  Weird.  All I can say is, I’m a girl and I have a right to change my mind when I want to–about chocolate anyway.  I fully expected this recipe to be too much for me.  Too much chocolate.  Too sweet.  Too rich.  Too over the top.

Boy, was I wrong.

The recipe did give me a little bit of trouble.  It started with the crust.  The recipe says to treat it like a pie crust, but I read that a lot of people were having trouble rolling it out–it was too crumbly.  So, I added an extra tablespoon of water and I tried pressing it, but that was a bit too messy for my taste.

I ended up portioning the dough into equal pieces, giving it a brief rest in the fridge, and then rolling it out between sheets of plastic wrap.  I had no trouble with sticking and it was very easy to transfer to the pans and pat it in.

The filling came together rather easily.  I used my favorite eating chocolate.  If you count the cocoa powder in the crust, there are 4 (yes 4!) different types of chocolate in this recipe plus some chopped up amaretti cookies.

I especially loved the zebra stripy-ness that happened when I started folding the chocolate into the egg mixture.

My second trouble was pan size.  I had smaller tart pans: 3 7/8 inch instead of 4 1/4.  So, I planned to make 7 tarts instead of 6.  I should have done 9 or 10.  I had may more filling than I had tart space.  Not wanting to waste anything, I overfilled.

Of course, they overflowed.  I was a little disappointed because they were not very pretty.  Plus, I was anxious to bake them enough.  With the added height, I baked them for an extra 5 minutes, even though my pans were smaller.  I was worried because after the suggested 20 minute rest and cool down, the first tart I pulled out seemed wet/weepy in the middle.

We did not try them until several hours later.  About 15 minutes before I served them, I popped them into a warm oven.  It was not on, but it had been on 3 hours earlier and was still a little warm.  When I served them, they were just warm, not at all hot.

The tarts were heavenly.  Crusty on the outside.  Soft and fluffy on the inside.  They were not too sweet.  They did not feel heavy or rich at all.  It’s not as light as a souffle, but not as thick or sticky as a pudding.  The texture is really hard to describe, so you just keep eating it to try to figure it out.  Then, before you know it, it’s all gone!

The next day, after an overnight chill, the texture is different.  It becomes denser, but not heavy.  The filling melts in your mouth and the bits of milk and white chocolate in the filling stand out more on the tongue.  I used amaretti cookies and they sort of just melted into the filling.  Except for a hint of flavor here and there, it was hard to tell they were in there.  Maybe biscotti would have stood out more?

I think I may have to make these again–they were That Good.

If you would like to make these, you can find the recipe and lots of links to other bakers who made this tart here.

Posted on February 21, 2012, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. This is my dream dessert! I will now have to go buy tart pans….

  2. Oh wow… your tartlets look beautiful! I think I did something wrong with the filling… mine had a completely different texture from yours (and, now that I see it, I wonder if I might have liked the tarts a whole lot more if only they’d come out like that… light and fluffy sounds right up my alley!)

  3. They look great 🙂

  4. I was like you – i really didn’t think I would like them as much as I did. I’m a chocolate lover but not a fudge person if that makes any sense. Warm and gooey from the oven though…yum! I had luck nuking them the next day for about 20 seconds on defrost. Not quite as much of the goo factor but pretty darn tasty!

  5. Looks very yummy! I am not a big chocolate eater so I was not sure how much I’d care for them but both my husband and I enjoyed them.

  6. They look delicious!

  7. These were at there best slightly warm with a little bit of ice cream…
    I think the oozy center was the best part.

  8. your tarts just look so festive! 🙂 congrats on great looking, gooey tarts!

  9. YUM. Your tart looks Delicious! I’m glad you ended up liking it more than you thought you would.

  10. Like the heart sprinkles you added…nice photos too. And, yes, the tart was delish!

    ~ Carmen
    http://bakingismyzen.wordpress.com

Tell me what you think!

