One Pastry Leads to Another

Yesterday I had a hankering for pastry.
So, I pulled out some frozen puff pastry that I had stashed in the freezer and got a jar of peach jam out of the jam cupboard.

After the pastry was thawed (which took a few hours in the fridge), I had little yummy peach turnovers in about an hour an a half. They are easy to make. Just roll out your dough into a large rectangle, about 1/8 inch thick. Cut into squares. You’ll see some of mine are a bit odd shaped because I did not want to trim the dough and waste any dough. Spoon some jam onto each square and seal with water and a fork. I used about a tablespoon of jam. It was probably too much for this size pastry, but I don’t mind the ooziness. Let them cool in the fridge for about 20-30 minutes before you brush them with a beaten egg and sprinkle with pearl sugar (or not). Bake for 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

Enjoy when you can’t wait any longer, but try not to burn yourself! We went for a walk around the block before we had ours to let them cool and to burn off the calories in advance.

And, because I often cannot just stop at one thing when the mood takes me, I also made an apple pie.

I took lots of pictures of this pie because I was really charmed by the stream of steam coming out from the steam holes. It reminded me of all those cartoons where you see steam coming out of a pie (or other food) and then it turns into some scary shape.

I hope your day is as sweet as ours was yesterday!

Posted on February 28, 2012, in Baking, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Emma @ Sweet Mabel

    ooo, those peachy turnovers would be lovely for breakfast.

Tell me what you think!

