Overstuffed Rugelach

When we were in New York a couple of year’s ago, one of the things I hoped to try was authentic rugelach. Unfortunately, New York City is such a huge place that, unless you know exactly where to go, it can be difficult to find what you want.  I did not do my research ahead of time for rugelach and therefore was disappointed by the samples I had.

Maybe this is because my standard for rugelach was already unusually high.  My only experience with it up until our NYC trip was making it at home using Dorie’s recipe from her book Baking, From My Home to Yours.  These rugelach are really good and pretty also, with their crescent shape.  I have been making Dorie’s recipe for rugelach since I got this book and I love them.

This week, our TWD recipe is a rugelach recipe from the baker Lauren Groveman.  She promised that these rugelach would be really stuffed with filling and she was not kidding.

First of all, I originally cut this recipe by a third because it calls for 12 ounces of cream cheese.  Well, I didn’t want to have to throw away half a brick of cream cheese and I also did not want to increase the recipe to include it, so I chose to use 8 ounces and make less.  The dough came together really well.

While the dough chilled, I mixed up the filling.  I wanted two different types of rugelach.  I mixed up almonds, dried cranberries and apricots in one bowl.  In another, I mixed together pecans, dried currants and prunes.  Even though I used half of the amount of filling ingredients the recipe called for, I still got a lot of filling.  Instead of using the levkar in the recipe, I used my own jam:  blueberry plum and apricot.

When I got to the assembly part, I rolled out the dough onto wax paper and cut it in half with a sharp knife.  Then, I piled the filling on top.  This is where it got really messy.  In retrospect, I misread the directions and put about twice as much filling in the cookies as I needed to.  The wax paper made it easier to handle, but I think about a third of the filling oozed out. A 5 inch wide strip of dough is not much to roll up when you have so much filling inside.  However, I stuck with it and just scraped off the excess filling.  Instead of sticking in the fridge, though, I put mine in the deep freeze.

When I baked them, they oozed excessively.  See?

Perhaps it was because I used jam and not levkar or probably because I overfilled them.  Well, I will confess to being really disappointed.  Then I tasted them.  Delicious!  Everyone who tried them agreed that they were really tasty.

So delicious that I decided to make another batch.  I had that other brick of cream cheese and lots of leftover filling, after all.  The second time, I rolled the dough out wider–about 7 inches by 10 inches and used less filling,  And I added another flavor: fig citrus jam with hazelnuts and dates.

The second batch looked much better going into the oven.

And Yay!  They did not ooze as much.  Now, I have twice as many rugelach as I had originally planned to make.  It’s a good thing they freeze well.  Actually, I am planning to keep the three logs I have yet to bake in the freezer and just bake them on demand.  They should keep for several months this way.

I am no longer wondering what an “authentic” rugelach tastes like.  I cannot imagine that they are much better than these.  You can find the recipe at My Baking Heart or at Margaret of the Urban Hiker.  But, be careful, once you make these, you may not be able to stop.

Posted on March 6, 2012, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. they look great! I made the croissants yesterday and they were delicious, tho a bit overcooked, as I forgot to set the timer!!! I found the dough very difficult to roll out to the suggested sizes, but it really didn’t matter, as the taste and lightness/flakiness was perfect.

  2. I’m glad you liked these! I bake mine the other direction – with the cut end on the baking sheet. I wonder if that would have made a difference. Yum!

  3. Mine completely melted in the oven too, but I don’t think I’m brave enough to give it a second shot! Your second batch looks perfect!

  4. They looked great! Mine oozed as well.

  5. Your first batch looks great, but your second batch is picture perfect gorgeous!

  6. Looks lovely .. what a beautiful golden color … !!!!!

  7. I loved your story and yay for you for trying them a second time!! I cooked mine cut side down and they didn’t ooze…maybe that would help too.

  8. sadly a lot of us had the leakage issue with our first (and sometimes second) batches. Your end results look amazing 🙂

  9. beautiful rugelach! that second batch could be professionally baked!

  10. That second batch came out beautifully. Great job!

Tell me what you think!

