Project Report

The end of a vacation is always a mixed bag for me. I’m glad to be home, back in my own house, sleeping in my own bed, but sad to have to get back into the everyday routine. Laundry. Cooking. Teaching. Cleaning. Wait, I don’t really do much cleaning. Umm…Organizing.

But, look here. I do like to see what I have accomplished during all my “recreational” knitting time. Sometimes, I don’t get much done. And that’s ok; not every vacation is conducive to lots of knitting time. Even a 6 hour flight can have lots of interruptions when one is traveling with two kids who want to eat sometimes and go to the potty as well. So, I take progress where I can get it and here’s what I got.

One completed sock.

20120328-144818.jpg

It’s a little big and I felt that I spent a lot of time knitting on it, probably because it was a toe-up pattern and I was attempting to use up as much of the yarn as I could. The husband likes his socks on the long side. I like mine on the short side, so knitting a sock for him is like knitting one and a half socks for me. sometimes two.

One almost completed hat.

20120328-144940.jpg

This project probably got about ten to fourteen knitting hours this week, way more than I was expecting it to take. It’s a slouchy hat pattern, so I knew it was going to be bigger, I just didn’t know how big. I thought I would be done with it by the middle of the week and move o to the matching cowl, but it was not meant to be.

Lastly, well, there’s no lastly, actually. That’s all I got done. I could have done more, I know, especially during those really long waits in line at Legoland, but I did not take my knitting with me everywhere. That’s odd for me, but I think in some ways I needed a few days break from my projects. Also, I could have been really tired of looking at the color brown.

Now that I am home, I am going to pursue some more colorful projects. The cherry blossoms have already passed here. I think I need to work on something pink.

Posted on March 28, 2012, in Knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Funny I felt the same way about returning from holidays. I loved being back to my home but goig back to work was soooo hard. You mentioned teaching. Are you a school teacher? Love to know more about that as it is a profession I am keen on exploring.
    Cool hat! Some colourful projects sound like fun. Can’t wait to see them.

  2. craftingismybliss

    I think working on something pink would be great. Love color. There’s a place for brown and grey, but color real cheers ones soul especially in springtime.

Tell me what you think!

