Day Off and a Surprise

After a full weekend of yardwork, cleaning the house, re-arranging the house to accommodate 16 people for dinner yesterday, then cooking for that dinner,  I decided to take today off from teaching.  I have mountains of laundry to do, a pretty good sized-pile of dishes from yesterday’s dinner, and a good bit of re-arranging to get the house back in order.

I am not going to share with you pictures of my mountains of laundry or my messy house (are you disappointed?).  But, I do have something fun to share with you.  Awhile ago, I joined a swap as part of the Bare Naked Knitspot Club.  In this swap, we were paired with a partner and agreed to send that partner a skein of good yarn, and some fun goodies.

On Saturday, just as Easter preparations were in full swing here, the husband came in with a package for me that was postmarked from Germany.  I was so excited, I stopped everything I was doing to open that package.  It was amazing!

IMG_3696

There were some lovely edibles:  two bars of chocolate, one with a terrific fruity flavor: raspberry, maybe? and another with nougat-yum!  And there were gummy bears, which are probably my favorite candy, ever.   There was a nice packet of loose tea and a packet of spices for cookies.

IMG_3697

She also included some lip balm and hand lotion, perfectly sized for my knitting bag on the go, a little tin of the cutest stitch markers, and a button (not sure who this guy is, but I will find out).

IMG_3695

And the best part?  The yarn and bag, of course.  The yarn is a skein of Wollmeise, extremely hard to find here in the states and it’s my favorite color: cobalt blue, with some streaks of a darker blue.  I just love it!  And the bag is from Knit Nation in London.  I can’t tell you how excited I was to get this.  London holds a special place in my heart and mind since the husband and I went there for our tenth anniversary, so anything from London immediately makes me happy.

IMG_3694

Getting this package really lifted my spirits and made my day!  If you have never joined a swap, I encourage you to try one.  It is really a lot of fun.  It’s a great way to meet a new friend and great fun putting together a package of goodies for someone who shares a common interest (knitting, in this case).  And if you get an international swap partner, it’s even better!  It’s like the adult version of having a pen pal!  You are never too old to get a surprise package in the mail.

Anyway, I am off to get started on my day off…laundry, here I come!

Posted on April 9, 2012, in Knitting, Thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So fun! What a great partner…makes me want to go out and join a swap right now! Happy housecleaning!

Tell me what you think!

