Loafing Around

This week’s TWD recipe is possibly the easiest cake recipe you will ever make.  It takes less than ten minutes from start to finish to get this cake in the oven.  Then, all you have to do is wait for it to bake and cool.  Waiting to eat it is probably the hardest part.  I have made this recipe countless of times over the years and, usually, I double it.  They freeze wonderfully and it is nice to have something on hand when one is pressed for time.

Lemon Loaf Cake

Because this recipe is so easy, it invites all kinds of tinkering.

Orange loaf cake.  It’s easy to substitute one citrus for another.  This one also has a little whole wheat pastry flour in it because I ran out of cake flour and had to make up the difference.

Or leave out the citrus and add a couple teaspoons of vanilla extract for a “plainer” flavor.

Or  add some chocolate because chocolate can’t be bad, right?

Chocolate Speckled with a Hint of Orange.

Do you have 10-15 minutes?  You have time to make this cake.  Don’t have a mixer?  No problem.  All you need is a zester, a whisk, a spatula and a bowl.  Go get the recipe here or here and make one or two or five.  You won’t regret it.

Posted on April 17, 2012, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. I love your variations, especially the chocolate with orange. Yum.

  2. OK, I’m in! I’m off today and I’m trying this recipe. What a nice surprise for hubby 🙂

  3. Nice variations! Your cakes look heavenly. 🙂

  4. I also like the chocolate and orange. Great idea 🙂

  5. All three cakes look delicious!

  6. I like the chocolate orange combination. That sounds like a winner!

  7. Wow, congrats on taking this one all the way. They look lovely.

  8. Nice! I love all the variations. How did the addition of whole wheat flour change the taste/texture?

    • I think it was still good, but there was definitely a wheatier flavor. The texture did not change noticeably, but I did use WW pastry flour. It was also darker. I think it went well with the orange, but I’m not so sure if it would have been as good in the other two variations.

  9. Love your variations! I agree this is one of the easiest cakes ever.

  10. wow! the variations! I am in awe.
    They all look delicious!

  11. Wow – look at all those variations. Nice job!

  12. I like your variations, and that you were fearless and used some whole wheat!

  13. This really is the easiest cake recipe ever!

  14. This one is certainly versatile. Your chocolate loaf looks really good!

  15. Chocolate and orange? Sounds delicious and very creative!

  16. For the chocolate/orange one, how much did you add and how did you get it to look “speckled”? thanks

Tell me what you think!

