My Head is Not this Big

I finally finished my first BNK project, just in time for the third pattern release this week.  I worked the pattern as written for the large size  because I have a big head.  Yes, I do.  I measured my head and it is larger than 21 inches.  I will not tell you how much larger because that is my personal business, much like waist sizes or bra sizes or weight.  But I will tell you this.

My head is not as big as this hat.

It fits my head just fine around the brim, but there’s just way to much above it.  See, here it is on my oldest.  His head is not as big as mine, but even so, you can tell that there is just way more hat there than there should be on top of a head.  It just kind of hangs there.

IMG_3720

It is really warm and has provided much entertainment for the whole family, especially when the husband took to playing with it.  I wanted to include photos of this here to show you, but I was deterred by his evil eye.  In fact, every time I tried to take a photo, the husband threw the hat down.  You will just have to imagine for yourself the husband wearing this hat in the style of  a sheik in the desert.  Trust me, it was hilarious.

IMG_3719

It does have a really nice star pattern on the top that I really like and the hat was easy to make. I should have had a clue that it would be too big, since it seemed to take me forever to finish it. But, sometimes, when I am knitting a pattern, I kind of check my brain out and just follow it without thinking about whether it will fit.  Sometimes, I get lucky, other times, not so much.

So, what to do?  Rip it back?  Tuck it in the bottom of a drawer?  Use it as party entertainment?  Or give it away?  Do any of you want this hat?  If you do, you can have it.  Really, seriously.  I will send it to you.  In return, I only ask that you send me a photo of you wearing it.  Yeah, I didn’t think so.

p.s.  Just to be clear, I am not criticizing the pattern or the designer.  I love the hat and it was a great pattern, easy to follow.  It just doesn’t fit me, so it was really my fault for picking the wrong size to make.

p.p.s.  I am not ripping out this hat.  I have enough yarn to make another one, so I am serious.  If one of you wants it, you can have it and you won’t even have to pay for shipping.

Posted on April 19, 2012, in Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I think you should install a hidden camera in the kitchen, then give the hat back to the husband. Walk away and pretend you are not looking. You could then post the video to U-Tube!
    (that’s a pretty sweet piece of knitting, nice lady! 😉

  2. Ha! I liked that you placed the disclaimer. Cute hat.

Tell me what you think!

