Me vs. the Honey

I don’t know if you have heard this, but I learned last year that consuming local (to you) honey can drastically reduce allergy symptoms.  I have suffered from seasonal allergies all my life and, fortunately for me, modern drugs takes care of most of my problems.  This, however is not the case for my oldest, who suffers so badly from seasonal allergies that he ends up spending most of each spring indoors with a box of tissues as his constant companion.  We have tried just about everything over the counter and prescription and nothing has worked satisfactorily.  So, when I heard about the honey thing, I went right away and bought the biggest jug of local honey that I could find.  Supposedly, the honey helps your body create antibodies to the pollen that is local to your area which acts to reduce your allergic reaction.

Unfortunately, I cannot really speak to the effectiveness of this treatment because over the winter, my nice jug of clear, liquid, honey turned into a brick of solid honey that I could not access.  See?

This picture was taken After the husband had added some water to try to loosen it up.  It was really a solid brick beforehand.  Really, there was no way of getting this stuff out.  The spout was too small to get any utensil in other than a chopstick and no amount of squeezing or shaking could move it.  The husband joked that the only way to get to the honey was to cut off the top of the jug with a light saber.  Ha!

This jug of honey and I have been eying each other for a long time.  I have actually been avoiding recipes that call for honey because I really could not get a drop out of that jug.  And to think I was overjoyed to find such a big jug!  It would be accurate to say that bitterness has been growing in my heart towards this honey.

I did some research and found that heat could loosen up the honey, but as soon as it cooled, it would be hard as a brick again.  Maybe I was being unreasonable, but I felt betrayed by my honey.  I mean, I was depending on it to help my child and it let me down when I really needed it.  Even if I could get some honey out, it would be grainy and hard.  Who wants to spread grainy honey on their toast?

Well, I will tell you now, I am not one to be done in by a jug of honey.   I decided to take care of that jug once and for all.  So, yesterday, I pulled out a recipe that called for a lot of honey (12 ounces) and I tripled it to use up the entire jug.  To get the honey out, I had to pour hot water in it and shake the jug.  Luckily, the recipe calls for water, so I just took the water it called for and poured it little by little into the jug until I got it all out.  After mixing up the batter and throwing it into the oven for about an hour, I had these.

Pain d’epices.

It’s probably enough to last a lifetime…well, at least several months.  The good thing is, we love this bread.  It is basically a quick bread made with honey as its only sweetener and lots of spices.  It’s pretty low in fat and has some rye flour in it, which gives it a nice hearty texture.  It is really good spread with butter and eaten with a cup of tea. I am hoping that the health properties of the honey have not been compromised by baking it.  But, just in case, I am going to get some more local honey to drizzle on top of the bread.  This time, though, I think I’ll get a smaller jug.

If you want to make some of your own pain d’epices, you can find the recipe here.  It’s a pretty quick and easy recipe and easy to multiply.  The recipe calls for a 9 inch by 5 inch pan and I had 8.5 by 4.5.  There seemed to be a LOT of batter, so I made a mini loaf to go with each large pan.  It worked out well and I didn’t have to worry about the pans overflowing.

Posted on April 25, 2012, in Baking, Recipe reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. TomFriedChickenisAwesome

    uuuhgg I wanted to know if honey worked for seasonal allergies…I just started getting them the last couple years..I tried some generic Claritin last night, but my eyes are still itchy watery…but the bread looks yummy..throw a fried chicken drumstick on top and it’ll be even better..

  2. I’ve always put my honey jug in a pan of hot water & let it set, adding more hot water as necessary until it liquefies. I’ve never added water to the honey itself.The microwave also works, but you have to watch it pretty closely so the whole jug doesn’t get too hot & melt along with the honey.

  3. Bad luck about the honey but look at those delicious loaves. I think I’ll try the recipe, thanks for the link.

  4. Well done! How to fall into a jug of honey and come out smellin’ like a rose! I never had an allergy in my life until after Katrina. Apparently, through the whole affair, I got over-exposed to mold. Now, I’m allergic to everything. Anti-histamines make me crazy, so I used the local honey cure and it really worked, both in New Orleans and here at home. Another great cure that is a little longer lasting is bee pollen from local bees.

  5. That bread looks SO delicious!! I love carbs….YUMMY!

  6. I have some honey in the cupboard that I need to do battle with! I think I’m going to try your bread. It sounds great!

  7. I didn’t know that consuming local honey would do that. This year, I’ll definitely buy from my local apiary at the farmers market!

Tell me what you think!

