Bourbon Makes Everything Better, Part 2

I don’t know about you, but we are already counting the days until our summer break, well, at least, I am.  This can be a trying time of year.  The weather is getting warmer, but the allergies keep us inside.  We’ve completed all of our “requirements” schoolwise for the year, but I still have 6 weeks of instruction left in at least one subject.  There are finally good looking strawberries and asparagus at the store, but not much else.  I have gone to the store several times in the last few weeks, hoping/searching for some good veggies and fruit to bring home, but have been disappointed every time.  The apples and oranges are past their prime.  The berries have not fully come in yet and forget stone fruits.

Then I remembered some jars of peaches that I put up last summer.

Last August, after we went peach picking, we had an overabundance of peaches and I decided to can some.

It was an ordeal.  Lots of boiling water.  Slippery peaches.  Sticky syrup.  I only managed to make four jars before I called it quits.  Then, I stuck them in the back of the cabinet and just let them sit.  Every time I looked at them I was a little afraid.  I’m not really sure why.  I guess I had visions of rotting fruit or mold or something.  It’s not that I haven’t canned stuff before, but I dunno, I just had a bad feeling about it.

Well, after yet another disappointing trip to the grocery store last week, I decided to get out a jar and have a try.  Actually, to be honest, I made the husband try it.  Ever since that time over a dozen years ago when I ate some bad cheese that I couldn’t tell was bad (and then got really sick), the husband has become the official taster.  I fished out a piece of peach and gave it to him.  When his eyes lit up, I knew they were good.  Then I tried them and Wow!  They were good.  They were better than your run of the mill canned peaches and not just because we picked them and canned them ourselves.  Do you want to know why they were so good?

I’ll tell you why.

Bourbon.  Yes.

I followed this recipes from the New York Times for brandied peaches, only I didn’t have any brandy, so I subbed in bourbon.  And boy, does that really take these peaches to another level of yummy goodness.  They are not overtly boozy, but they had just enough kick to make you want to eat the whole jar.  And the boys loved them.

We had them with some plain greek yogurt and granola and it was delicious.  They would be really good with ice cream or, if you really want to accentuate the bourbon, with some bourbon whipped cream.  I will most certainly be making more of these when we go peach picking this year and I won’t be making four measly jars, either, even if I get steam burns.  It will be worth the pain to have these peaches in the dead of winter or in the spring when we are longing for summer.

Posted on April 30, 2012, in Canning, Family Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I consider canning to be one of the most irritating things under the sun. Love the results, but I still don’t consider it worth the effort.

  2. James Beard said peaches and bourbon have an affinity for each other. You discovered it all by yourself!

  3. I’m so impressed that you canned peaches! And you dessert looks lovely! Peaches and Bourbon – Yum!

  4. Agreed! Bourbon and peaches…yum!

Tell me what you think!

