My First Fougasse

Olive Rosemary Fougasse from Around My French Table by Dorie Greenspan, baked with French Fridays with Dorie

I tried very hard to come up with something interesting/coherent/funny to say about this bread and the making of it.

After several tries, I gave up.

So, I am giving you some randomness today.

1.  The dough was easy to make, but then I forgot about it and left to rise for several hours instead of just one.  It quadrupled.  Oops.  I just stirred it down and stuck it in the fridge.

2.  When I checked on it in the morning, it had more than doubled.  This sure was a really active dough!  But, I fretted over whether the yeast would have enough oomph to make it to the end.

3. The dough was sticky and difficult to shape.  I was lazy and just did it on the parchment sheet and used no flour.  I might oil my hands next time.  They were not very pretty.

4. I baked it on a stone.  I bake almost every bread on a stone.

5.  Dorie says it will not get very dark and she was right.  This is pretty pale bread, but I worried needlessly about whether the dough would “spring” in the oven.  It did fine.

6.  The texture was great; soft and springy with a little crustiness.  The lemon zest was interesting.

7.  I liked the first 4 olives I ate, then I did not want any more.  Next time, I will make one with olives and one without.

8.  There probably won’t be a next time.  Maybe it’s because I have been baking so much sourdough lately, but I found this bread, overall, to be rather underwhelming.  I am looking forward to trying the recipe in Baking with Julia.  That one looks yummier to me.

9.  Despite my mediocre feelings about this bread, it did make for some yummy sandwiches the next day.  So, maybe, it’s the kind of bread that is better with something rather than by itself.

Well, I think I have said all I can think of about the fougasse I made this week.  How did yours turn out?

Posted on May 11, 2012, in Baking, French Fridays with Dorie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I thought this was a nice bread and tasty enough, but it didn’t totally steal my heart.
    It looks good & I like that you were able to make a sandwich out of it.

  2. Oooh, good to know that the bread is even yummier the next day! 🙂 Looks like a perfect sandwich!

  3. I thought this was really tasty and since I love kalamata olives I was in my glory. It’s great
    with wine, cheese, or a sandwich. Your sandwich looks delightful, and I am certain it does
    add a little more taste to this bread.

  4. thekitchenlioness

    Your fougasse looks lovely and so does your sandwich – I am glad that you enjoyed it the next day – one of my sons took some fougasse to school the next day and loved it. The photos are very nice and I enjoyed reading your post. Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. Oooh, I bet it made a great sandwich! I was shocked at how light the bread was too, especially since the one pictured in the book is pretty dark.

  6. I don’t think the extra rising did any harm. Your loaf looks lovely. I’ll bet the flavors tasted great as a sandwich.

  7. I didn’t make any. But looking at yours, I’m wishing I did? And I don’t even bake breads. Wow!!

    My stomach is growling now….the ultimate compliment!

  8. I wondered how this would be for a sandwich so am glad you tried it. Although Dorie cautioned that this fougasse wouldn’t be so great the “day after”, I guess that might not be the case. It looked like a delicious sandwich. Made me hungry.

  9. Oh my, this is so beautiful. Looks absolutely delicious!

  10. I’m not sure there will be a next time for me either because this reminds me too much of foccacia.

  11. Hahaha, I didnt have much to say about this one either! 🙂 Love it! Too bad you didnt like this one though… your sandwich looked great!

  12. Your sandwich looks so delicious. My husband didn’t care for this one, but I enjoyed it and I loved that you can shape it any way that you want.

  13. Good idea on making one loaf plain. The sandwich must have been good. We liked it as a casual munch food all on its own.

  14. Can’t believe its your first fougasse, it looks good! =)

Tell me what you think!

