An Edible Fence

This weekend, I helped a friend celebrate her first mother’s day as a mother.   We had a good time eating and showering her with gifts.  Then, of course, we had cake.

Have you ever made a chocolate fence?  It’s a pretty easy way to gussy up a cake.  You need to melt at least 3 ounces of chocolate (that’s about one bar).  I did more because I was doing the strawberries as well.  8 ounces of chocolate was enough for the fence plus a pound of chocolate covered strawberries.

Once the chocolate is melted, put it in a piping bag (or a small zipper bag) and cut off the tip.  Then, you drizzle the chocolate on a long rectangle that you have drawn on a piece of wax paper.  My rectangle was 3.75 inches by 29.5 inches.  This was plenty big enough to surround this nine inch cake.

The tricky part is waiting until the chocolate is set, but not hard.  Mine took about an hour, but it was a really warm day.   You can tell it’s ready when it is no longer shiny, but when you lift a corner of the paper, it’s still flexible.   This is when you put the cake right next to the paper, carefully, lift each end of the paper and wrap the chocolate around the cake.  I find that it helps to trim the wax paper pretty close to one long side of the chocolate so that it will sit close to the cake plate.

I leave the paper on until I am ready to serve the cake and I store the cake in the fridge.  I guess it was a humid day.  Usually, I don’t get this much sweating on my chocolate after it comes out of the fridge.  Hmm…

I don’t come up with my own ideas.  This is from The Cake Bible by Rose Levy Berenbaum.  If you don’t have this cookbook, you are really missing something.  The cake is the Strawberry Maria cake and I only make it once a year, if that.  However, the oldest has asked to have it for his birthday, so maybe I’ll make it twice this year.  Maybe.

Posted on May 14, 2012, in Baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Absolutely beautiful!! I have the book, The Cake Bible…I’ll check this recipe out.

    ~Carmen
    http://bakingismyzen@wordpress.com

  2. Ohmygosh That’s gorgeous! I can’t wait to try it!

  3. youllfindmewhistling

    That is impressive!

  4. Oh my goodness! That’s so pretty!

  5. Wow, Love your bakes, lovely! =)

Tell me what you think!

