Dangerous Pecan Sticky Buns

The last time I made these, the husband told me I should never make them again.  Why did he say this?  I think it was maybe the 5 sticks of butter that are called for in the recipe.  He has no objection to the brioche dough itself.  That’s fine.  There’s only a stick and a half of butter in that.  I don’t even think he would really have an objection to the extra stick and a half of butter that is used in layers in the dough.  I think the thing that puts him over the edge is the stick of butter that is used to line EACH pan.

Honestly, most days, I would agree with him.  There are very few things that have this much butter in them that I find worth the calories.  However, this is most certainly one of them.  Put this in the category called Best Food I Have Ever Had.  It is a combination of rich brioche dough, flaky croissant texture, and sticky, sweet caramel flavor.  Or, if you want it a description in just one word: heavenly.

This, my friends, is not a recipe for the faint-hearted, but it can be done in stages and, once the rolls of dough are assembled, they can rest in the freezer for several weeks, awaiting their special day.

You start off by making an incredibly rich brioche dough.  It takes a long time in the mixer, but I was never worried.  It is not a stiff dough, so there was no real danger of overheating.  The dough is silky and soft when it is done.

I’m not really sure if it was because I used SAF Gold yeast or the really warm day, but my yeast was really active.  It doubled in half the time I was expecting.  After I deflated it and put it in the fridge, it kept rising until it was at least triple the volume.  I let it reast in the fridge for a full 24 hours because I was just too busy to deal with it, but it did not seem to mind at all.

Then, because I read hastily, I rolled out the entire amount of dough instead of half.  As a result, I had to do the butter layering twice. And then, I just decided to continue with the whole dough for the sugar and pecan layer.  I just rolled it out really big and cut it into two pieces when I was done.

Then, I stuck them in a freezer for a more convenient day.  This is where this fairly complicated recipe becomes genius.  The rolls just wait for you in the freezer until you are ready to make them.   I decided to bake them all in one day because I like the added convenience of having buns already baked and waiting for me in the freezer.  You take the dough out of the freezer and slice them while they are still frozen.  Then, let them rise for a few hours.  They go from tight, frozen rolls….

to puffy, pillows waiting for the oven.  Do you see the layers of butter?

Once baked, they turn into the most delicious, flaky, caramelized sticky bun you will ever have.  EVER.

Do you see all those layers?   That’s what makes these sticky buns better.  I think this side is the more attractive side because you can see all your hard work.  The other, caramelized side, looks good as well, but I don’t think it has as much of a wow factor.

Would you like to try making these yourself?  You can find the recipe here and here.

But, be careful, once you make them, you may never be able to eat a regular sticky bun again.

I just have to add another picture of the other side.  They are just really amazing.

And totally dangerous, for the waistline, that is.  Just keep in mind, it may sound like a lot of butter, but it’s really not much more than a piece of pie.  You may have to do a little extra exercise for this one, but it is worth every bite.

Posted on May 15, 2012, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. OMG I’M COMING TO LIVE AT YOUR HOUSE.

  2. Mine will be ready to come out of the oven in like 5 minutes and I am so excited! Yours look beautiful!

  3. Absolutely gorgeous! I’m afraid I didn’t get to these, but based on your description, I’m going to have to!

  4. Those are gorgeous! Love the layers, I didn’t get as many, I think I rolled the dough out too much.

  5. Gorgeous! Love the shots that you got of the layers… so pretty! 🙂

  6. thekitchenlioness

    Wonderful photos of all the different steps that it took to bake these awesome Pecan Sticky Buns! The pictures really do show off the many buttery layers of your Sticky Buns – you are right the “wrong” side really should be the “right” side! Really nice post!

  7. Your flaky layers look so pretty!

  8. Very nice post, love your pictures. I will be making these again! We loved them. . .especially the flaky layers 🙂

  9. These are gorgeous! These were so yummy. A big hit at my house too!

  10. Great post. Your sticky buns look so flaky.

  11. Wow. Your layers are impressive.

  12. I absolutely loved these buns… of course for a special occassion…those layesr are what made it different from the ordinary.. i think all that butter did have a purpose!!

  13. susanelester

    I’d like to present you with the “Versatile Blogger Award!” Please stop by my blog to “pick it up!” http://www.createamazingmeals.com/2012/05/old-fashioned-chocolate-cake-with.html

  14. Wonderful! Great photos!!! I made our last recipe, I just have to post it. Now this week my daughter had an emergency and hopefully tomorrow will get to start them!

  15. lovely sticky topping!

  16. Definitely dangerous for the waistline!!! Love your photos with all the flaky layers perfectly visualized!!! YUM.

  17. You made this recipe even more appealing with your photos!

  18. Lovely job. I really like that first picture with the silky dough.

Tell me what you think!

