Berry Good

Ok, now that we’ve got our obligatory exercise under our belts, it’s time to consider what there is to be done with ten pounds of strawberries.  Here are some of our favorite ways to eat strawberries.

1.  The first thing we did was eat a lot of them, of course.  Then, we sorted them into two piles:  An “Oh my, these are beautiful and we must eat these” pile and a pile for the rest.  Surprisingly, the eating pile was not that big.  But, no worries.

2.  The second thing I did was make biscuits and whipped cream for strawberry shortcakes.  Unfortunately, I have no pictures to show you of these because they were scarfed down too quickly.  Sorry.

3.  Then, I made some strawberry balsamic jam.

Scrumptious.  The vanilla bean that I added highlights the sweetness of the strawberries and the balsamic vinegar gives the jam a depth of flavor that I never expected.  You can’t tell that it has vinegar in it, but there is an extra flavor that you can’t quite put your finger on, so you just want a little more.  It was perfect with the leftover biscuits from the shortcake.

4.  With the remainder of the strawberries, I made the first pie of the summer season.

Strawberry rhubarb pie.

For this pie, I added some of my strawberry  rhubarb jam from last year in place of some of the sugar.  I thought it might intensify the fruity flavors.  I also used instant Clearjel for the first time.  This is a thickener that is preferred by the America’s Test Kitchen and is sold by King Arthur Flour.  My old straw-rhub pie recipe called for flour as a thickener and I have never been fond of the flavor of flour in my pie filling.  Usually, I use tapioca, but have never for this particular pie (don’t ask me why, I don’t think I’d have a rational answer).

The filling of the pie did indeed come out really fruity and I think the clearjel really helped to let those flavors shine through.  It was nicely set, without being too jelly-like or runny and it was really clear (not cloudy).  It tasted really great the day it was made.  The next day, I found the filling to be a little gummy, but I have always found that pies always taste their best on the first day.  I also tried a new pie dough recipe, but I’ll talk about that another time.

And that was it for the strawberries we picked over the weekend.  They don’t keep long, so they have to be eaten or preserved somehow within a few days.  It makes for a berry intense (sorry, I couldn’t resist the pun!) few days, but worth every minute.  Now, we may have to go pick some more or maybe just go to the store.  I’m not sure I’m ready for another strawberry yoga session.

What’s your favorite way to eat strawberries?

Posted on May 22, 2012, in Baking, Canning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I don’t think I can wait much longer for the farmers market to start so I can make my own strawberry jam. Yours looks great!

  2. Holy cow your Jam looks stupendous. I can almost taste it. My husband and I used to jar blackberry jam, kiwi and apple butter. We made strawberry a few times though once the consistency didn’t turn out right. It was a waste though, we used it to top ice cream and it was perfect. You make me want to hit the kitchen. How fantastic!

  3. That looks so yummy! You have to stop showing me your yummy food or I’m going to be a gluttonous cow this summer, lol! Just wow.

  4. Ah, strawberry season is finally here. The first locally grown ones have hit the market and they were delicious – I opted for a stawberry rhubarb compote and served it with vanilla ice cream. Your beautiful pictures of the jam, the pie and the biscuit certainly evoke feelings of warm summer afternoons with wonderful desserts…just great!

    Have a wonderful week!

Tell me what you think!

