Too Hot to Hold

I guess I am continuing in my quest to finish some of my bigger projects.  Finally, I have finished sewing together all 25 blocks of my Mitered Cross blanket.  I will not say how much I hated  did not enjoy the process of doing this.  Let’s just focus on the fact that it is finally done!  Yay!

IMG_4100

Briefly, I considered leaving the blanket then and just calling it done, but I hate having yarn leftover.  I had almost an entire ball.  It could not be left an orphan, but I SO did NOT want to do the I-cord edging.

So, instead, I picked up stitches all the way around the blanket for a garter stitch edge.  Over 1000 stitches and 4 size 6 needles later, I have this to hold in my lap while the temperature climbs this week.

IMG_4097

I wonder if I will actually work on it.

Posted on May 24, 2012, in Knitting, Thankfulness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. It is a challenging blanket, in terms of stamina, I found. Congrats on getting this far. Do some stitches take breaks, and it’ll get done sooner than you think. Good luck!

  2. Okay, all I can say is better now than later because the weather is only gonna get hotter from here on out. If it’s any consolations its beautiful and I’m sure when your done you will feel fantastic about your accomplishment. Keep going!

  3. Perhaps you could attend a couple of knitting sessions at various local shops. Cast out the line about “wanting everyone to participate by knitting on this blanket.” Gush on about how this process symbolizes the sisterhood/brotherhood of knitters around the globe. Maybe, just maybe, successful completion will result, much like Tom Sawyer’s whitewashed fence.

  4. I advise movies and cool beverages. And feel perfectly fine claiming the whole couch to work on this, so maybe you can angle it so it’s not ALL on your lap. (Says the man who’s going to have wool sweaters in his lap all summer, and probably the next one too.)

    Just rememeber, you’ll thank yourself next winter.

    • I wish I could angle it, but the way the stitches are picked up, the thing is all in a giant ball of knitting. If I move it too vigorously, stitches start falling off the needles. I guess I will just have to suffer through it.

  5. It’s colorful, I’ll give you that!

  6. It’s scrumptious! I love the colors in that!

    Once it is done, you will have forgotten all about the pain…with the exception of the war stories you will get to tell anyone who will listen while admiring it. 🙂

  7. I must say I just love the way your knitted blanket looks like! What a fantastic project!

Tell me what you think!

