Just Call Me Crazy

Hi there!  I hope you had a nice long weekend.  I know I did.  We had very little planned and it was very hot outside, so I took the opportunity and knit as much as I could, which is never as much as I would have liked to, but that’s just life.

First, I decided to start a new shawl project.

IMG_4116

This is the May pattern for the BNK club and this time, I ordered the yarn that was called for in the pattern.  It’s an organic, naturally colored cotton.  Did you know that cotton grew in shades of color?  Just like wool, it has been bred over the years to be mostly white, but there are still some places that grow the colored cotton and the range of colors is really amazing.  The color of my shawl, above, is called sage and it is kind of a silvery color with a hint of green.   Of course, it’s not the only color I ordered.

IMG_4111

Look at that green color!  It’s hard to believe that is not dyed, but it is not.  The third color is called moka and it’s a light brown that definitely has some pink somewhere in it.  The yarn is really soft and not too bad to knit with so far.  Usually, I avoid cotton because it really hurts my hands, but I’ve been fine with this one.  It could be the laceweight or maybe it’s just that other cottons have the elasticity processed out of them.  If you’re interested in this yarn, go visit the Ecobutterfly site.  It’s fascinating to read about the yarn and Stephanie also has lots of other fair trade, organic, and earth friendly products on her site.

Secondly, I finally finished the edging on my Rock Island and picked up the stitches for the body of the shawl.

IMG_4112

I had a little trouble getting the numbers right on this one, but I sort of fudged it and I have my fingers crossed that it will turn out ok.

It was at this point that I realized the full extent of my knitting craziness.  Currently I have three lace shawls in progress.

The third is this Squall shawl, which was the last pattern of the FiFC club.

IMG_4113

This shawl is worked from the bottom up, meaning you cast on all the edge stitches (over 600 in this case) and knit to the top center, decreasing stitches every so often as you go.  Strangely enough, this is the same way my Rock Island is knit (almost 300 stitches here).  Umm…and the new Cotton one (587 stitches on this one).

What does this mean?  This means that all my shawl projects have these crazy long rows that take Forever, just to do one row.  The first row of my cotton shawl took over an hour and a half (of course, that could be because I had to redo half of it).  Eventually, the stitch count will go down and the rows will get quicker, but right now, I feel that I am in crazy shawl land.  Combine this with  the 1000+ stitches on my blanket and I think I might really be crazy.

Posted on May 29, 2012, in Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wow. I never knew that about cotton! Those are some beautiful yarns. The shawl will be quite beautiful!

  2. Wow, how lovely! And the factoid about cotton just made my whole day 🙂 I used to find cotton painful to knit also. Have you tried knitting cotton with Addi Scakel Turbo needles? The surface is so slick that the cotton glides effortlessly along them. I was amazed at what a difference they made….expensive but worth every penny.

  3. You are crazy. I’m just going to say it. These other commenters might be polite, and just think it, but I am tactless enough to just tell you that you are out of your mind.

    That having been said, I too started a shawl over the weekend. A traditional Shetland lace shawl from THE BOOK. I quickly might make it anti-traditional though, becausse I think I’ve found a better way. (All those thousands of brainy Shetland knitters, and I think I’ve out smarted all of them.)

Tell me what you think!

