For the Love of Binding

I’m binding.

I was getting myself all geared up to hate this job, especially when I realized that the pre-made binding that I had purchased for this quilt was 3/4 inch instead of 1 inch.  It may not seem like a big difference, but when you are trying to cover up the raw edges of a quilt, that can make a huge difference in the look of the finished product.  I had to be extra careful sewing it onto the top to make sure I would have enough to fold over to the back while simultaneously trying to make sure that I was not sewing too close to the edge and risk it coming apart.  It was like walking a tightrope, I tell you.

Then I got out the needle and thread and started sewing the back on by hand.

And, you know what?  It looks great and it’s not as hard as I thought it would be.  Sometimes the dreading of the thing is worse than the actual thing itself.  Next time, I’ll try not to judge an activity before I start it.  It would save me a lot of aggravation.

What have you discovered lately that is easier to do than you first anticipated?

Posted on June 14, 2012, in Quilting, Thankfulness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Every year I dread getting all my receipts and suchlike together for my tax. Every year I get the job done pretty quickly and wonder why I wasted so much energy dreading it. There is no substitute for just getting on and doing the work.

    Love that quilt.

  2. I love that you are using a barrette to hold your quilt! Brilliant! I am planning my first quilt… Wish me luck!

Tell me what you think!

