I Like Beets, Do You?

Beets seem to be one of those vegetables that people either love or hate.  I happen to love beets, especially if they are roasted.  One thing that I do hate about beets, though, is prepping them.  Red juice goes everywhere and it stains stuff.

So, this week, when I saw that the FFwD recipe was going to be Lime Honey Beet Salad, I decided to take the easy route.  I bought already peeled and cooked beets from Trader Joe’s.  They are not as good as roasting them yourself, but they do save a lot of time and trouble, which is also something I really needed this week.

It was an easy recipe to make.  I had no fresh herbs in the house, so I just sprinkled in a little dried dill  with the dressing and called it done.  We ate it with our grilled Korean short rib lettuce wraps and pickled veggies.

It was ok.  Honestly, though I love beets, I didn’t find this recipe to be anything special.  So, I am glad I did not go through the extra effort of cooking them myself.  Then again, maybe if I had, it might have been better.  What do you think?

Posted on June 15, 2012, in Cooking, French Fridays with Dorie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Since I have never tried pre cooked beets it’s hard for me to compare, I did not care for the dill flavor but the rest of the recipe was okay. Maybe with other herbs I would like it better.

  2. I did roast my beets and really enjoyed this for lunch and we are having the rest for dinner tonight. Someone else said that the bought some that were already pre-cooked – I have not seen them at Trader Joe’s so I didn’t know you could buy them that way. It probably beats heating up the house. I really liked the vinaigrette, but perhaps you didn’t care for the dill or chives. Your plate of food looks so colorful and appetizing and I bet those Korean short ribs were tasty.

  3. thekitchenlioness

    One very lovely looking plate – the beets sound like a good pairing with the grilled Korean short rib lettuce wraps – never tried a dish like that but I must say, is sounds and looks so delicious, as do the pickled veggies on your plate!

  4. Looks good, but I don’t like beets. So, I’ll have to pass on this one.

  5. It looks pretty, but beets just aren’t my thing 😦
    The shortribs sound great and love the presentation on the other vegetables.

  6. It’s been 100 degrees here, so I opted for the microwave route, and I was surprised by how well they turned out. I love your vegetable garnish!

  7. WOW! I’m in England and chilled pre-cooked beets are vaccum packed and ready to be bought here so I was really excited about that – how great you found a similar thing in the States! I have never seen that for a root veggie in the States before. Your whole meal looks great!

  8. I like your title 🙂 I love beets !!! I am glad that this week recipe for FFWD is Beet Salad 🙂 Have a nice day !

  9. You are so right about how people feel about beets. I happen to LOVE them. This recipe was a nice change from my usual preparation. Very refreshing. Glad you enjoyed this too.

  10. I roasted mine, left out the dill, and left it in the fridge for a couple days and really enjoyed it! I loved the hint of lime with the beets and chives.

Tell me what you think!

