Before and After, plus a Crazy Food Tour

Happy Monday!  I hope you had a nice weekend.  Ours was a nice long one that included our first road trip of the summer season and some of the best weather you can have while on vacation.  Unfortunately for the husband and I, we did not get to enjoy the weather as much as we would have liked since we were inside attending a Homeschool conference for two days of the weekend.   It was worth it, though, for the encouragement and training we received.

I did, however, get to do a bit of knitting while we were gone.  Before we left, this is how my Rock Island shawl was looking.

IMG_4267

All the lace charts were done and all I had left to do was the garter stitch portion to finish it off. I worked on it in the car and in the evenings while watching tv. Now, it looks like this.

IMG_4306

It’s actually almost done! I was worried when I started the project that I was not going to have enough yarn, but I think I will have plenty and may even have more leftover than I would like. Oh well. As my oldest would say, “Better safe than sorry.”

And before you think the weekend was all work and no play, the husband decided on the way home that he wanted  to go into New York City.  It was father’s day and he was driving, so who were we to object?  It turned out to be, as we are calling it, a crazy food tour of New York City.  We started at a dim sum restaurant in Flushing (not technically New York, I know, but very close and extremely yummy).  Then, he and the boys decided that we just HAD to drive on the Brooklyn Bridge.

Not a great picture, I know, but you get the idea.  Next, as we were inching our way along through traffic on the way to Central Park, he turned to me and said, “How close are we to Russ and Daughters?”  It turns out that we were only four blocks away, so we had to go, of course!  Half an hour and quite a few dollars later, we had a bag full of candy, bagels, and babka.  On our way back to the car, we got a little distracted by a place we just HAD to investigate.

It was delicious.  Between the four of us, we had six flavors and they were all really amazing.  I especially liked the grapefruit campari sorbet.  It was nice and fresh and very smooth, not at all icy.  The salted caramel was also heavenly with nice pockets of caramel laced within it.  I will have to remember to do that next time I make my salted caramel recipe.

After this stop, we finally made the trek up to Central Park and wandered there for a short while.  Then, as it was getting close to dinnertime, we decided that we had better get started for home.  But first, we had to stop and get something to eat for dinner, right?  Right.  So, we went to Zabar’s.  Oh. My. Goodness.  I have never seen so much cheese in one place in my whole life!  And that’s just the beginning.  We were pressed for time, so I did not get to linger, but I could have easily spent a couple of hours (and a lot of money) in that store.  I left kind of wishing that I lived in New York, so I could get some of these things more regularly, but then it might not be as special.  And I am sure that my bank account is better off for it as well!

And that was the end of our Crazy Food Tour of New York City.   I think we got a pretty good haul for only being in the city for five hours, don’t you?

Posted on June 18, 2012, in Family Fun, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. An impromptu food tour of New York? That sounds like a lot of fun. And the shawl looks great too.

  2. Oh, I want to be with you the next time you go to NYC…you hit some delicious spots 🙂

Tell me what you think!

