Summer Reading, Part 1

Ahh, summer reading, how I love you.  I read all year long, but for some reason, summer reading is different.  In the summer, you can read by the window almost the whole day long and, if it is nice, reading outside is a pleasure.  In the summer, I seem to have bigger chunks of time to read, though they can be sporadic, the chunks themselves are nice and long.  After a busy couple of summer days at the pool or doing summery things like picking blueberries or eating ice cream, there are whole days that can be devoted to nothing but reading.

One book that I have devoured finished lately is by an author many of us are familiar with: Frances Hodgson Burnett.  She is best known for her children’s books, The Secret Garden and The Little Princess.  It’s funny that, even though these are classics, I actually have not read them until fairly recently when they showed up on some children’s book lists.  I had heard of them, of course, but somehow, they eluded me in my youth.  Reading those books as an adult was a delightful experience; a sort of reliving of a childhood that I never had. They have everything a children’s book should have: magic, drama, kids who learn an important life lesson, adults that are both wise and really horrid.  I can see why they are classics.

Then, I discovered she had written a book for adults:  The Making of a Marchioness.

I read this book in less than a week.  Truthfully, it was probably just a couple of days, but my memory is a little hazy because it was a few weeks ago.  As soon as I finished it, I wanted to read it again and tell you about it, but I didn’t.  Why?  I am not sure.

There is something magical about a book that so captures your attention, that you cannot even speak of it coherently.  Saying it is wonderful, suspenseful, and delightful all at the same time doesn’t seem sufficient.  When I was done, I discovered that I must have been reading it with bated breath, for I found that I suddenly could breathe deeply again.  It was a book that sorta left me bereft when I was done with it; as if a good friend had left me.  At the homeschool conference we attended a couple of weeks ago, one of the presenters said that you should never ask a child to talk about a book that they truly love because it sort of ruins the magic.  This really resonated with me and so, I find that I cannot really tell you much about this book, except to say that you should read it as well.  This magic is too good to not be shared.

It will be no surprise to you that this is part of my attempt to read through all of the Persephone Books.  The more of them I read, the more I want to read the next one.

What are you reading this summer?

Posted on June 29, 2012, in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That magical feeling is a secret world inhabited only by the reader and the book. Those wonderful books that evoke that bond have somehow conveyed to the reader that he or she is the only one who can really understand the feelings and emotions experienced by the characters. I felt this with both The Black Stallion and Banner in the Sky and have never recovered from it!

  2. I still think you should talk about it otherwise we readers would never share our favorite books. That is how books get known in the first place.

Tell me what you think!

