Gardens and Compost and Cookies

In my dreams, I have a huge, productive, and beautiful garden.  There are fresh vegetables growing organically, a nice little herb section, a few fruit trees, and lots of blueberry and raspberry bushes.  Everything is well kept and green and luscious.  Of course, in the corner of every great garden is the compost pile, where unwanted kitchen and garden items get transformed into the best fertilizer you can get for a garden.  I was especially captivated by visions of beautiful gardening when I read the introduction of Ripe: A Cook in the Orchard by Nigel Slater.

In reality, my garden is a tiny little yard that has a little patch of grass with a few bushes bordering it.  We have tried growing various veggies, but I just do not have the green thumb that it takes to do this successfully.  Plus, I hate being hot and sweaty and, last time I checked, it was pretty much impossible to stay cool while working in a garden in the middle of summer.  Fortunately for me, I do not have to have my own garden to make some of the lovely recipes in Slater’s book and I will definitely be trying some of these in the future.  The apple and blackberry turnovers seem especially enticing.

Anyway, though I do not have a garden,  I have found a new way to compost that has turned out to be really delicious.

Compost Cookies

These cookies have a lot of stuff in them:  Coffee grounds, chocolate chips, butterscotch chips. caramel bits, toffee bits, oatmeal, graham crackers, pretzels, and potato chips.  Everyone I have offered them to has greeted them with a little skepticism, especially after I tell them what is in them, but it is too intriguing not to try.  It has been fun to watch people’s cautious first bite look turn into a face lit up, this is yummy look.

They are yummy.  They have a sweet salty thing going on that is very appetizing.  Yesterday, as I ate my way through a giant cookie, I thought about how it was sort of more like a snack than a cookie.  Or maybe more like a surprise.  You never know what you are going to get in each bite.  Will there be chocolate?  Crunchy potato chip?  Chewy caramel?  Before you know it, the whole thing is gone and you wonder where it went.

These cookies are also surprisingly light tasting.  Maybe it’s because the initial dough mixing is more unusual.  You actually have to whip the butter with the sugars.  The dough ends up being really light colored and really soft.

They have to be chilled to bake them, which actually works in your favor.  You can scoop them out and chill them to bake at your convenience or you can freeze them like I did and bring them to the beach and have the luxury of freshly baked cookies without any of the work.

The recipe cake from the Momofuku Milk Bar book by Christina Tosi (pictured above), but you can also find it here.  There are a lot of intriguing recipes in this book, some I think are bordering on ridiculous, but others are strangely compelling.  I certainly did not need another thing to do two days before we left for vacation, but when I saw this recipe, I just Had To make it.

They were worth the time and effort and, unlike regular gardening and composting, I can do this successfully.

Posted on July 5, 2012, in Baking, Books, Recipe reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have wanted to try making compost cookies forever – and yours look amazing.

Tell me what you think!

