Summer Bounty

Yesterday, I visited a local produce stand and came back with a whole boxful of produce and a smile on my face.  Summer weather has been here for awhile now, but it seems that the fruits and veggies of summer are just coming into their glory.  I look forward to this time  of year when fresh veggies and fruit abound.  Whenever I go to a farmer’s market or produce stand, I always like to try something new if I can.  Yesterday, it was these little sugar plums.

They are sweet and mild flavored and small.  Some of them were no bigger than a large cherry.  I decided to use some of them in a cake recipe that I have been wanting to try for awhile.

Sugar Plum Torte

I got the recipe out of the New York Times Cookbook, but you can find it here.  The cake is super easy to put together.  You don’t need a mixer, though I used one anyway.  It would probably help if you used plums that were easy to pit.  Mine were not, so some of them are a bit mangled, but you don’t really notice that once it is baked.  Also, I found it odd that you sprinkle a whole tablespoon of cinnamon on top of the cake before you bake it.  It looks strange going in the oven, especially since there’s barely enough batter to cover the bottom of the pan.  But all it all looks good with a little snow shower of powdered sugar.

It’s delicious.  The cinnamon is not overpowering at all and baking the plums really helps to meld the flavors of the skin and flesh together.  It is really yummy with a cup of tea.

The recipe in the book calls for one whole cup of sugar instead of the three-quarters in the link above.  It also calls for those italian purple plums that come out closer to autumn, but I figure any fruit would be good.  In fact, I have some cherries I might try next.  Or maybe I should try it with peaches or nectarines.  Or those black plums…so many choices this time of year!

Posted on July 12, 2012, in Baking, Recipe reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. A cake with little sugar plums and cinnamon, that sounds exactly like the kind of cake I would chose to bake, delicious!

    Glad to read that you had a nice vacation – enjoy your weekend!

  2. The recipe is really great. I love the thought of cinnamon and sugar plums! But I also like your suggestion to try other fruit.

Tell me what you think!

