Cake Every Day

Thursday’s sugar plum cake was gone in one day.  No, we did not eat it all ourselves.  I shared some with a friend.  But, Friday morning, there was a cake shaped hole in my tummy.  So, I had to make another cake, but I used a different recipe.  Yes, I know, I said I was going to do the same one with different fruit, but I am fickle.  I like to try new things.   Lately, I have been really taken with Nigel Slater and his book, Ripe.  I just needed to try a recipe from this book, so I did.

I made the Cake for Midsummer with fresh organic apricots and raspberries.

I am always intrigued by how many British chefs/bakers use self-rising flour.  It’s a tough sell among hard-core bakers here in this country, but almost every British cookbook I have looked at uses the stuff.  Well, I had some lying around from who knows when.  Seriously, the bag I have is probably over a year old and I was wondering if the leavening power was still intact, but I would never know unless I tried it, right?  And now I know that self-rising flour that is old will still rise!

In fact, the cake was super soft and fluffy.  The almond meal in the batter went really well with the apricots and raspberries.  It was really moist and not too sweet–perfect with a glass of iced tea or a cup of hot tea.  This cake we did not share, but don’t worry.  We did not eat it all in one day.  It took us three days and on the third day it was just as yummy, if not yummier.  The cake had time to dry out just a tad and it got a little denser as well and strangely, I think the fruit was more intensely flavored and the almond nuttier.

There are a number of recipes in this book that I want to try.  I love how the recipes are organized.  Every fruit has its own chapter and there are savory recipes for each fruit as well as sweet recipes.  In fact, I have been so taken with this book, that I went out and bought, Tender, which is the prequel to Ripe and focuses on vegetables.  After all, summer is not just about fruit, is it?  Plus, there are some really good looking cake recipes in there as well, so I can have veggies in my daily cake as well.  Yum!

I think I may have to have a piece of cake everyday for the rest of the summer, which is funny because I usually prefer pies in the summer.  But, these last two cakes and the bounty of summer fruits have really sparked a cake fire in my heart.  Maybe if I skip lunch everyday, I can have cake instead.  Doesn’t that sound like a great idea?

Posted on July 16, 2012, in Baking, Books, Recipe reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What a delectable cake! Love the combination of fruit…yum!

  2. That looks and sounds delicious!

  3. That fruit is amazing – be the cake was delicious! Since you mentioned self-rising flour, I thought I’d let you know King Arthur Flour just launched a new one to rave reviews. Let me know if you’d like to have a bag for review. (I’ve always been a self-rising skeptic myself but have been loving the new flour.) Happy baking!

    http://www.kingarthurflour.com/self-rising-flour/

Tell me what you think!

